You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Publisher not ready for professional use

I'm really sorry to come to this conclusion, but Publisher simply isn't ready for professional work. I have been a professional designer for 25 years and worked with Pagemaker, Quark, InDesign and Publisher. I really wanted to swap InDesign for Publisher but after working with it for about 2 years now, every time hoping the most annoying quirks would be eliminated, I have to conclude that for professional work (where time constraints are important) Publisher has too many bugs to be really useful. There isn't a project where I wasn't forced to make manual adjustments, create cumbersome workarounds and had to live with the limitations of the work in progress that Publisher is at this moment.

Too bad, back to InDesign. :(

5 hours ago, basholtzer said:

after working with it for about 2 years now, every time hoping the most annoying quirks would be eliminated, I have to conclude that for professional work…

Your conclusions for your own needs are, of course, worth considering, so I don’t want to be argumentative on that point. The only thing I wish to point out is that Publisher is not as old as you say. The very first public beta, which of course was never advertised as being ready for professional work, was released in September 2018, so even by that metric, you have not been using it for two years. More to the point, its first availability for sale was June of last year (I seem to remember June 19). So even for people who purchased it on the first day, we have not quite yet passed the one-year mark.