walt.farrell

Members
  • Content count

    51
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. I think you want to resize the canvas, not the document.
  2. It sounds like you have set your Windows Preferences "display scale" to a custom value. From what I've read here AP doesn't like values other than the ones that Windows offers by default (100%, 125%, 150%, 175%) and setting a different value (e.g., 135%) will cause problems like the one you described.
  3. Sorry, but someone who knows about Macs will have to answer that. I can only guess. There is a tutorial about printing on Macs which demonstrates the process, and makes use of a Soft Proof layer which does have those options. If you follow the steps shown in that tutorial, using Soft Proof to see what your photo will look like, and applying additional adjustments underneath the soft proof layer to make it look correct, perhaps that eliminates the need to have the color intent option available while actually printing?
  4. It's there for me (Affinity Photo, on Windows), as you can see in the attached screenshot.
  5. I found the Affinity Designer tutorial on Artistic, Frame, and Shape Text useful for learning more about how Frame and/or Artistic Text work in Affinity Photo. Edit: Basically, though, you should be able to select the layer containing the text frame, and if you have the move tool or the text frame tool selected the frame will be visible and the text will be editable.
  6. And according to that list, Mark, Adobe Digital Negative (DNG) is a supported RAW "camera". Perhaps the developers need to take a look at a DNG file created by VueScan? (I have none to offer at the moment, but Jaran could probably supply one
  7. Perhaps you missed DutchShader's first step: Select all. Without an active selection you'll only have the choice to export the entire document.
  8. Have you tried the Flood Select tool with the Contiguous option turned off?
  9. I can't comment on the need for some kind of "level of undo" as you suggested in your first post. I haven't used Live Lighting much yet, but in the playing around I've done I have not experienced the problem you seem to have. Regarding further adjustments: For all the live filter layers, if you look in the layer panel you should see the filter layer there, with an icon in it. Double-clicking on the icon should reopen the filter dialog.
  10. Thanks, Alfred. It does look like the history is the modification being indicated, so that explains it. I probably would never have found that on my own However, this happens even when I have not selected Save History with Document. And in any case it seems odd because it's the .jpg or .tif document being marked modified. If I do nothing else after the export except try to close the document, AP will ask if I want to save it. If I say yes it will happily save the document, overwriting the original .jpg or .tif (and, not saving the History anyway). That potentially loses some EXIF information, and I'm concerned that for .jpg the quality may suffer from the unneeded save operation. As I didn't choose to save History this is a totally unneeded operation. If I had chosen to Save with History then at least when closing I would have had to flatten the document, or Save As a .afphoto file.Save As is the only case where the History becomes relevant. Of course, I suppose it is probably a rare situation when someone has done nothing to a document except open it, and then export it. So it's probably a very low priority change for the Affinity team.
  11. Note that in the prior description, if I Cancel from File->Export rather than Saving, the current document is not marked modified. But here's an additional scenario: Open a document (jpg, tif for example) File->Export Click More... Click Close. Current document is immediately marked Modified. In this scenario canceling the File->Export leaves the document marked Modified.
  12. Affinity Photo (on Windows, at least) tells you on the document's title bar that the document is "(modified)" if you have any unsaved changes. I imagine (though cannot check) that this also happens in Designer, and on Mac. Does that satisfy your need?
  13. With AP 1.6.1.93 or Beta 1.6.3.96 on Windows, I've noticed that if I open a file (e.g., a .jpg or .tif), then immediately do a File->Export to save a copy of the file, AP marks my original file as Modified when I click Save on the Export dialog. Why? I haven't done anything to change the original file at that point. Then, when I try to close the original, AP asks if I want to save it, which is confusing as I haven't made any apparent changes to the original.
  14. Can you provide an example, and tell us what you expected instead?
  15. If you look at your prior post in this thread (here) you can see that you quoted the initial post in the thread, giving us several screens of old info to scroll through before we could get to your 3-4 line request. Instead of clicking on Quote you could have clicked on Reply to this topic, and saved us all from having to reread or scroll past that information. Alfred was suggesting that even now you could edit your post and delete that quotation, as it's meaningless, and just leave your request.