SF Charter Boat

How to START in Affinity?

11 posts in this topic

Bought the $45 book and it starts by saying " the projects in this book assume you have a working knowledge of the interface" and continues to the next page, (nine), Master the Core Skills headline and first sentence is " ...also assume you have mastered the core skills..." etc and refers to page 85. 

"assume, assume..." Please, do not assume, the who organized the book. Or make it clear it is not the book for which to get started.

This is illogical, frustrating and confusing to me. I would expect a crawl, walk, run sequence, but, no, the developers "assume" too blanking much to provide a one, two three approach. I am an absolute beginner in Affinity, Aperture was sent out to sea and I am still clinging to it.

Understood, there are many Affinity videos which get good reviews, but, again, the index of the topics listed as the first topic here show different places to start, thus my request, which I feel needs to be addressed by the organizers: Please show me the most basic introductory video, (since the book investment is wasted until I am up to speed), then the next, and the one following and let me skip the ones I may know. 

Is there not a numbering system for the videos when one starts? Then, later, I can certainly understand going into more depth with the various tools, but it seems that the folks are so well advanced that they do not understand or put much effort into the very basic beginning steps.

So, is there an index of sorts, a Start Here, then Next Step, etc. in the videos? Is there a Beginning I, II, III system or something which I can use as a basis for starting the tutorials?

Thanks,

Stuart

PS is there a way to see the Affinity users in my area to maybe contact them and get together to learn/teach?

Hi, SF Charter Boat,