You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hello, everybody,

I'm new to graphic design. I've been using Affinity Designer V1 for a couple of years now only for a special project, and have more or less figured out enough of AD on my MacBook to be able to do what I am trying to do with my project. I use the vector persona exclusively. 

So today when I went to open the app I found that every single file I've created is blank. I can see in the Layers panel that all my content is still there but nothing is showing up on the canvas, aside from those thin blue outlines showing the selected vector curve. I seem to remember that yesterday when I was using the program my laptop battery may have run down before I could close the program properly, and I'm wondering if now the app software is corrupted. If so I guess I would have to reinstall V1 or upgrade to V2, but I thought I would check here first in case it's merely a matter of some setting. 

I've tried opening AD files that were not open when the computer powered down, they are the same (blank canvas). I tried opening AD files I had previously saved onto a thumb drive, and they also have nothing but invisible content in them. I tried restarting AD, no change. I tried restarting my computer, no change. I've looked at the Dark/Light mode and that seems to have nothing to do with it. I've looked closely at the Swatches and Stroke panels and verified that the Stroke width is greater than zero, and has color applied. I can make changes to the Stroke and see the changes show up in the thumbnails of the Layers panel but not on the canvas. 

Of course then there are the Art Boards which seem to be missing. I've tried adding an Art Board to the canvas and just like the vectors, I can see the outline and it shows up in the Layers panel but I cannot make them visible. I've tried creating a new file and it does the same. 

Any suggestions?

Edited by Symbiog
add clarity