Jump to content
ronnyb

Illegible Preferences

Recommended Posts

The checked Checkboxes are not uncheckable.... is that supposed to be a Preference or Notification?

Screen Shot 2019-11-01 at 10.00.01 PM.png


2017 15" MacBook Pro 14,3 w/ Intel 4 Core i7 @ 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM, AMD 455 @ 2 GB, 512 GB SSD, macOS High Sierra

2018 11" iPad Pro 256 GB, latest iPadOS public beta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On all 3 desktop released apps I can change the options at will

On all 3 beta apps I cant

I suspect this "required feedback" is compulsory if you want to participate in the beta testing.

(Windows 8.1)

 


Due to the fact that Boris Johnson is now our Prime Minister, punctuation, spelling and grammar will never be worried about ever again.  We now have far bigger problems to be concerned about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's always been my suspicion, too, Carl. They are forcing the upload of crash files for the beta versions, but we have a choice for the retail versions.


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 1909 (183623.476), 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00Gz, GeForce GTX 970
Affinity Photo 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.502 Beta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, carl123 said:

On all 3 desktop released apps I can change the options at will

FWIW, on Macs (at least those running High Sierra or earlier) those preference options do not exist in any of the 3 retail apps. Those options are set globally in System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy tab > Analytics. But I don't know if those settings apply to the betas, which of course are available only directly from Affinity.


Affinity Photo 1.7.3, Affinity Designer 1.7.3, Affinity Publisher 1.7.3; macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 iMac (27-inch, Late 2012); 2.9GHz i5 CPU; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M; 8GB RAM
Affinity Photo 1.7.3.155 & Affinity Designer 1.7.3.1 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 13.1.2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I fear I have to say I don’t like being forced to upload any stuff from my computer. Indeed I would like to have control over what I share. Not that I wouldn’t be against submitting crash reports (I would probably even tick the checkbox), but that’s a matter of principle. :(

On 11/2/2019 at 6:52 AM, carl123 said:

I suspect this "required feedback" is compulsory if you want to participate in the beta testing.

Honestly, I would believe participating in the beta process is first of all a benefit for Serif. Nothing is more valuable to a software company than an lively beta testing community, isn’t it? Hence, I don’t fully understand why there should be something forced upon the user “in exchange” for the option to participate in beta testing. Does that make sense? :/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is intentional that these options are disabled in beta builds, and we auto enable the sending of crash reports.

This will always be optional in release builds, but as part of the agreement to use the betas it is something we enable, it can be quite helpful to us.


Serif Europe Ltd. - www.serif.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/2/2019 at 4:19 PM, A_B_C said:

... I don’t fully understand why there should be something forced upon the user “in exchange” for the option to participate in beta testing...

For myself, the automatic submission is fine. I don't remember how large the dumps can get, but if they can get large and I had a slow internet connection, I would likely care more.

And besides. I use one particular software package (commercial release version) in order to support two clients where one has the option to not send usage and/or dump files: Unchecking the preference to not send those things disables the software. So with this wider perspective, Serif's decision is "kinder."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the clarification. As I said, I am not against sharing crash dumps, but personally, I would prefer to have the option to decide myself. At the same time, one shouldn’t make this a bigger issue as it actually is. There are indeed companies that are much more curious about what users do on their machines. Not to speak of social media services and the like.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.