Jump to content

Pšenda

Members
  • Posts

    6,411
  • Joined

  • Last visited

4 Followers

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    : Praha
  • Member Title
    Eternal beginner :-)

Recent Profile Visitors

6,534 profile views
  1. ... for sure I will add - local disk and personal folders (not system folders, which can be problematic due to permission restrictions). Also not folders managed by various cloud services (OneDrive, Dropbox), which can interfere with files in a given directory, or create duplicates.
  2. Do you have a MacOS version? - an interesting difference. And next to the slice name, do you see a warning triangle? (in my picture it's the first one above).
  3. Unfortunately, symbols still have a lot of unfinished work and bugs, see for example the impossibility of hiding one instance of a symbol (the Symbol must be encapsulated in another group) and the impossibility of organizing them in the Symbol panel, but it is still a very powerful and useful tool.
  4. Image layer has undeniable advantages over Pixel layer, just look a bit here on the forum.
  5. Pixel layer not Image layer? If Image layer, need rasterized via Rasterize and Trim in Context menu.
  6. Yes, that is exactly what is being criticized here. We do not describe the existing solution here. Adjustments, like Filters, should only be "displayed" and only applied to the document after pressing OK / Apply.
  7. @thomaso, look at dialog setting for Filter. That's exactly how Adjustments, Live filters and fx should work in my opinion, ie the Apply and Cancel button. This includes buttons for displaying the status before / after adjustment/live filter/fx - this would be very useful. Today, the effect of a "new" setup cannot be checked at all - there is no way to see the status before it is made.
  8. Because the Delete button does something completely different - it completely deletes all Adjustments, not just the last settings. The Delete button brings nothing that could not be done in any other way - either delete the edit directly in the layers panel, or just temporarily turn it off with the checkbox.
  9. Yes, that would be the meaning of the Cancel button (or closing the dialog with a red dot / cross). That is, setting and displaying adjustments "on trial" - without a real impact on the document, which are simply not accepted after closing the dialog without pressing the OK / Apply button. The OK / Apply button would be necessary, as otherwise the adjustments settings would not be applied to the document. It would just work the same as filters (maybe that's what Old Bruce meant?). Personally, I see no reason to work with Filters and Adjustments differently. Of course, the current concept of dialog pseudo Panels is different (non-standard and therefore often confusing for users), so it is only a vain discussion.
  10. I think it's confusing for users of any other program. Serif does not visually distinguish at all, between modal dialogues, and between pseudo studio / panel dialogues. It is understandable that the options in the Panel are applied continuously (without confirmation) to the selected layers / objects, but in these dialogs a similar way of functioning is confusing - a dialog is simply a dialog that should have a clear end and execution of the action. Here it's just a special floating Panel displayed as a dialog box.
  11. Until the OK (Apply, ....) button is pressed, it is only a preview of the modifications - ie what the modifications will look like when the button for accepting these proposals is pressed (so far it is only a proposal, not their implementation). Therefore, if the computer crashes while making these adjustments, even if the AutoSave / AutoBackup time has elapsed, the adjustments will not be made in the document. If the modifications made to the user do not seem to him, he does not have to cancel or return anything, he only closes the dialog (either with the Cancel button or with the cross / red dot).
  12. For me, as a Windows user, the logic of Affinity control is very often non-standard and confusing (Windows unlike). I've always attributed this to the fact that it's a hybrid between macOS and Win and maybe an iPad, and that the developers probably don't even know how right it should be.
  13. Really? I don't know which OS you use by default, but for Windows there can be no doubt about the meaning of the Cancel button (as in the New Document dialog, Export Dialog, Document Setup,...). And the "OK" button (or Apply as used in Affinity in some situations) is also quite clear (as in Document Setup). In my opinion, "Delete" is completely confusing for some users. Is it about deleting the currently displayed dialog, so is it going out? Is it about deleting the adjustment settings you just made and keeping the previous one? Is it deleting the adjustment settings as such? Or is it a matter of deleting the entire document in progress? Or maybe deleting all the files on your PC? And "Reset" - it's like resetting a PC?!!! What if I don't have all the documents saved!!!
  14. https://www.google.com/search?q="Failed+to+save+do+to+file+being+lost"+site:https://forum.affinity.serif.com Although the report you cited is not correct (it is better to write it correctly), links to the topic were found.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.