David Hassell

Stripped IPTC and Metadata is a Deal Breaker

I am a serious amateur photographer who concentrates on travel and family photography.

I am using Affinity Photo on a trial basis and I am highly impressed with AP's outstanding editing capabilities, ease of use and superb learning videos and tutorials.

However, I have just discovered that almost all of my metadata is LOST after exporting files in JPG format! On studying this Forum, I note that any posters have expressed the same concern.

This is a deal breaker for me and it will be a great disappointment not to proceed with AP purchase, unless anyone can advise:-

1. is there a workaround for this most basic requirement? and

2. is AP planning to correct this problem in the very near future?

I am sure there must be hundreds of potential purchasers who are turning away from AP for the same reason.

I am evaluating Affinity as an alternative to PS, but the lack of ability to quickly store byline, copyright and caption is a bit of a show stopper for me.

Yes, there is third party software out there that will do this but why should I complicate my workflow?

It isn't as if writing metadat is that complex.

Imatch is Windows only, bummer. Us Mac users get no respect.:D

Any other metadata solutions that might integrate seamlessly?

I too am disappointed that AP is not more metadata robust. Such a basic need by serious photographers

Please, Serif, add this important feature to Affinity Photo. 

I have just discovered that you can’t edit metadata I sell quite a few images online and it’s an absolute must for me. I am using a Mac and an I pad pro and have purchased both affinity photo and designer and trying the beta version of publisher  I really like the software and I want to stop using photoshop but I am going to have to until this metadata problem is sorted. I will try and find a resolution and post if I do