Jump to content

Forum Upgraded 15th April, Please report any problems here


Recommended Posts

On 4/13/2021 at 2:59 PM, Patrick Connor said:

Forum Upgraded 15th April, Please report any problems here

New issue:

Normal browsing of forums and reading of threads/posts is unaffected. They all display at the full width of my screen (like before the upgrade)

But any of my activity streams (like "Unread Posts") now only display across about 3/4 of my screen (see screenshot)

Tried multiple browsers and computers

 

screen.png

R.I.P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
1 minute ago, loukash said:

Huh? I'm still getting smilies!

yeah. I turned them back on to see if 8) could be individually turned off ... it cannot

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
2 minutes ago, loukash said:

Also in Safari (11.1.2 on El Capitan), I'm seeing a gray blob where the ♥ would be:

aff_forum_safari_blob.png.447277b59337e22b939086a1b5d774cc.png

@Bob one for you

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Thanks for instigating the Forum Update....Looks Good!

There are a couple of oddities:

1. The user link @{}name looks too light. (White on pale grey)
2. When you go to 'Who's online' the Main area is truncated so you cannot really read the threads (#ipsLayout_mainArea,) and display:table-cell toggle corrects it but obviously will affect something else!

AD 1.10.5.1342 Beta 1.10.5.1342 RC2 | APh 1.10.5.1342 Beta 1.10.5.1342 RC2 |APu 1.10.5.1342 Beta 1.10.5.1282
OS:Windows 10 Pro 21H2 OS Build 19044.2006 + Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.4180.0
Rig:AMD FX 8350 and AMD Radeon (R9 380 Series) Settings Version 21.04.01 
Radeon Settings Version 2020
20.1.03) + Wacom Intuous 4M with driver 6.3.41-1

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
3 minutes ago, carl123 said:

But any of my activity streams (like "Unread Posts") now only display across about 3/4 of my screen (see screenshot)

Not seeing that, I get same as the forums. It initially draws that 3/4 size then quickly resizes to the right width (2 stage draw kind of thing) Something is stopping that recalculation/resize on your browsers. 

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
2 minutes ago, StuartRc said:

The user link @{}name looks too light. (White on pale grey)

agreed, it's a tad pale on my screen too

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Bob said:

I don't have access to El Capitan to test this. It looks fine in Safari 14.0.3 for me.

Safari 11 is definitely "obsolete" by now. That's why I'm browsing the web with Firefox 78.9.0esr on El Capitan. I just thougt I'd mention it literally for the record.

After all, El Capitan is still supported by Affinity apps, and not all users are Intervebz savvy enough to understand the obsoleteness of their default MacOS browser…

Edited by loukash
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Patrick Connor said:

Not seeing that, I get same as the forums. It initially draws that 3/4 size then quickly resizes to the right width (2 stage draw kind of thing) Something is stopping that recalculation/resize on your browsers. 

Weird, I get the opposite

Displays at full width then resets to 3/4s immediately

Different browsers on Windows 8.1 and Win 10 PCs

Will see if anyone else gets the same as me, before delving into my specific PC configurations

 

R.I.P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
5 minutes ago, Bob said:

....like the newsletter signup

Where is this configurable? I mean we have never sent one but I remember seeing it when I signed up, cannot find it now

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Patrick Connor said:

Where is this configurable?

Notification Settings (from the Notifications icon on the top toolbar). Untick the newsletter and the signup panel appears on various pages.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
1 minute ago, Bob said:

Notification Settings (from the Notifications icon on the top toolbar). Untick the newsletter and the signup panel appears on various pages.

yup, 3/4 width and the rest "wasted". Thanks for the education

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, Bob said:

@carl123 It shrinks to 3/4 for me if I'm not subscribed to the newsletter:

Perhaps you have some kind of ad-blocking that doesn't like the newsletter signup?

Thanks, that's interesting

I am subscribed so I don't see the sign up box (but still 3/4 screen width only)

I tried unsubscribing and the sign up box then appeared (so still 3/4)

Resubscribing removed the sign up box but still 3/4 screen width only

PS No ad blockers in use

R.I.P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

14 minutes ago, loukash said:

Looks good in Mac Firefox 78.9.0esr:

No, you are only getting 3/4 width also

What happens if you sign up to the newsletter?

That newsletter box should disappear and your screen should get the full width

R.I.P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is utter crap, so ugly, takes twice as much of screen estate forcing me to move up and down all the time. Also, if I open any page it will always shows the top of the thread, not the latest response, which I believe what was happening before (or maybe it's just that, I did had to scroll so much!).

If there is no compact mode, please revert to the old layout, this is ugly :c (and counter-productive)

"I'm a lumberjack and I'm OK, I sleep all night, and I work all day..."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
3 minutes ago, TEcHNOpls said:

if I open any page it will always shows the top of the thread,

This is your choice,

https://forum.affinity.serif.com/index.php?/settings/links/

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In most forum page views, there is a lot of empty space on the right side of the browser window.  This adds a lot of unnecessary scrolling when the page has a lot of content that otherwise would fit in the full page width.

This seems to be different today than yesterday.

Also, I see on the right in this "Create New Topic" window a section named "Moderator Options" with what appears to be a live "Hide Topic" after posting option. I assume that since I am not a moderator I should not see this.

Affinity Photo 1.10.5, Affinity Designer 1.10.5, Affinity Publisher 1.10.5;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.5.280 & Affinity Designer 1.10.5 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For example, this is what my default custom stream looks like on my iMac:

98584774_wastedspace.jpg.9a818d60b73144be634d7dd5627ea8f1.jpg

It is very nearly the same if I click open the "Unread Content" view, so from what I can tell it has nothing to do with custom streams.

When I decrease the width of the window the width of the empty space does not decrease proportionally. Only when I decrease the window width so much that the header stuff at the top is replaced by a 3 line 'burger' menu icon is the empty space removed.

Affinity Photo 1.10.5, Affinity Designer 1.10.5, Affinity Publisher 1.10.5;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.5.280 & Affinity Designer 1.10.5 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
18 minutes ago, R C-R said:

Also, I see on the right in this "Create New Topic" window a section named "Moderator Options" with what appears to be a live "Hide Topic" after posting option. I assume that since I am not a moderator I should not see this.

If the topic is YOUR topic you see that option, and that is correct even if you are not a moderator. That is not new, just moved it's location. The space issue is discussed above and will be investigated

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Patrick Connor said:

The space issue is discussed above and will be investigated

Just so you know

I logged out and still get the issue, so nothing to do with my custom (forum) settings/changes

I also deleted all my browser's affinity/serif cookies and the problem is the same

R.I.P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Patrick Connor said:

If the topic is YOUR topic you see that option, and that is correct even if you are not a moderator. That is not new, just moved it's location.

OK, but then why is this option in a section named "Moderator Options." Very confusing!

Affinity Photo 1.10.5, Affinity Designer 1.10.5, Affinity Publisher 1.10.5;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.5.280 & Affinity Designer 1.10.5 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
Just now, R C-R said:

OK, but then why is this option in a section named "Moderator Options." Very confusing!

It is a moderator option... that I have given to all users. Would you like me to remove it from you?

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.