You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hard time with linked text boxes

artfuturo

Hi guys

I am new to Affinity Publisher but have used other Text and DTP programs in the past. Still, I appreciate, I may oversee something here. However, I have tried about everything that is humanly possible to figure out what is going on and still can't fix it. Thus, I believe this could be a bug.

See attached two test files. How to reproduce:

1. Open Publisher File - see issue on page 2, super small text with tiny spacing values. Even if you apply Text Style Body Text, it won't fix it. 
  2. Lets try to start from scratch again, open the Word File
  3. Copy Word text (dummy text from a Guardian article)
  4. CTRL-A and delete all text in Publisher .. so start from scratch
  5. Paste the Word text into the columns - you see the same issue again.
  6. Here, I tried to CTRL-A and apply the Text Style Body Text, no luck
  7. I experience other strange things, e.g. there was a sudden Column Break but I didn't put any there and there were no issue with Text Flow options either, or some of the column text suddenly had a very large font, or some of the text simply disappeared into a black hole as far as visibility is concerned, but was still there in the background (CTRL-A and Copy, past into Notepad, text was still complete). 

I am at my end, sorry. Any help with this would be really appreciated. 

Kind regards
Phil 

Publisher Test_v2.afpub Test Text.docx

There is formatting applied, presumably from the Word file. If you right click on the paragraph style and clear character styles it makes it much larger (11pt). The section at the top of the paragraph styles panel shows all the extra styling brought in from the Word copy & paste.

image.png.e3420d2fab958944a43fc283c58972d4.png

Windows 10 Pro, I5 3.3G PC 16G RAM

Hi Mick