EeeTeeCee

Yikes. Clone tool adds softens pixels?

I’ve been using Affinity Photo (current update) for iPad Pro (2020) for a few months now. I’ve been loving it. However, I may have to fully abandon it. 

I noticed today that the clone tool doesn’t duplicate the same sharpness as the original (targeted) pixels. I’m hoping I accidentally changed something in settings...but looked back on a few other recent projects, and see the same softer, blurrier clone stamps in those too. Wasted a lot of time, and now have to go back and fix these images in another app.

Please tell me I can just adjust the settings, or that it’s a quick fix on the developer end...

b256e5f6-cd4c-4d2a-ac19-877cdb6d5f4a.jpe

Sorry, but the more I’m playing with this, the more I’m finding. The softness is created once the cloned selection is moved (not resized, simply moved). I can recreate this every time.

Just reinstalled Affinity, made sure I had the latest update, etc... How has this issue not been resolved?? I’m stunned  😅

This is a beautiful app. Robust features. However, this issue is BAD and I have used free apps that don’t soften pixels when you copy/paste, use the clone tool, etc. 

Please fix!

4 minutes ago, etcetera said:

I have used free apps that don’t soften pixels when you copy/paste, use the clone tool, etc.

Affinity Photo shouldn’t paste softened pixels unless you copied a feathered selection. Similarly, cloning should work as you expect if your brush has its hardness set to 100% and ‘Wet Edges’ is set off.

Alfred online2long.gif
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher for Windows • Windows 10 Home (4th gen Core i3 CPU)
Affinity Photo for iPad 1.8.4.186 • Designer for iPad 1.8.4.4 • iPadOS 13.6 (iPad Air 2)

6 hours ago, Alfred said:

Affinity Photo shouldn’t paste softened pixels unless you copied a feathered selection. Similarly, cloning should work as you expect if your brush has its hardness set to 100% and ‘Wet Edges’ is set off.