Jump to content

vonBusing

Members
  • Content Count

    287
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About vonBusing

  • Rank
    Advanced Member

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden

Recent Profile Visitors

1,304 profile views
  1. What does "Auto-update: Soon " mean in terms of measurable time?
  2. When can we expect the pending auto-update to be available?
  3. I really appreciate that Publisher and Photo betas usually have the Auto-update option available. The download size is significantly smaller than a full software download (which is now worse than ever with universal apps). I wish Designer beta could offer that option more often. See it as a sustainability goal: smaller downloads have smaller energy consumption footprint. Multiplied with the number of downloads, you have a substantial drop in the flood.
  4. Although I'm fully aware of the issue and know what I need to do, I get caught by this little issue regularly; especially when I'm in a hurry... It's a true time waster. A fix would be very appreciated.
  5. They absolutely do. I have no issues running both the release and the beta at the same time. They have separate support folders in the user's ~library/Application Support folder. I don't know why the beta hijacked the file format for you, but it is very easily reset to the release version from the info panel of any afpub file.
  6. Hi HarryMcGovern, You like to live dangerously with your files when you make this kind of beta (1.x) the default program. As stated in the disclaimer of this thread, files you open and save with this beta might not be compatible with the currently released 1.(x-1) version. In the same time, while new features are beeing tested out during these beta cycles, there are no guaranties that they will be compatible with the future released 1.x version. You might end with corrupted files. Regarding your save folder issues, it is normal behaviour for applications to save by default in the same location were you opened the file, alternatively where you last saved a file. Regular applications working with documents don't "set up" folders for their documents. You can save them wherever you want. But you should definitively save beta files separately from your real working files to avoid the risk of corrupting real working file by mistake.
  7. Universal apps! incredibly overweight apps are back in town...
  8. My hardware detection was accurate in both applications. Maybe an article number mismatch/duplicate for your model in the Serif lookup database?
  9. Monthly mailer sound like some newsletter that could probably quite easily be handled by html/css/js. Any browser could make it to a pdf, if required.
  10. Bump: Publisher 1.8.1 is still working the same way. If this is the intended behavior (not a bug but a feature), I would love to hear an explanation of this choice that I do not understand. If not, are there any plans to fix it?
  11. Since it's an image (rather than a vector object) that you are recoloring, you could use the overlay layer effect to fill with an actual color, like white. Not sure how the fill property on an image is actually working, but it is some kind of tinting rather than fill that is occurring. Maybe someone will be able to explain the different color matematics between fill and color overlay on an image. They surely are different.
  12. I tested the provided test file on my MBP 16" with the configuration below and I see the same behavior as @philipmuller97 , both with Metal and OpenGL. Same behavior in APubBeta 1.8.0.523.
  13. Hi @Jon P, I have now tested, as you suggested, to create a new document from the iMac, connected to the laptop via Thunderbold, on the laptop drive. I also included images as linked from the Laptop drive. That worked normally without any access authorisation prompt. Closing and opening that document again does not trigger any warnings, unless I had, in between, opened the file on the laptop, done some changes, and saved again. Then I get this (as with my original working document): : From that dialogue, if I select "Resource Manager" I get the list with all resources with status "Access denied". From here, I have to relink each resource individually, even if they are all in the same folder. If, instead, I select "Yes" in the dialogue above, then I am prompted to relink one of the resources, and nothing more. If I open the Resource Manager now, all the resource links appears as OK. Not sure why we have this difference here, but currently, the "Resource Manager" button in that dialogue is more a kind of trap than of any help. Also the action to "locate" a resource is slightly ambiguous. From this dialogue "locate" is to find the source file on your drive, while "locate" in the Resource Manager is to find where the file is used in the document, only. In the Resource Manager, one may want to do both. Both iMac and MBP are running macOS Mojave 10.14.6 and HFS+ file system. Thanks, /Miro
  14. Hi! In the Affinity Publisher help it is stated that: "It's good practice to keep your linked resources in a subfolder within your document's folder. Not only does it keep your images in one place for easier management, but if you move your project to a new location, the links to your resources will always be maintained." I have all the linked files in a folder that I have together with my APub document, see example screenshot: However, each time I access my project from another computer (and the root path is, of course, different), the links to the images are broken. This is not what I would expect since the relative path is unchanged, and that situation must be similar to moving your project to a new location, stated in the help it should be possible to do. The files are on my laptop and I access the files from an iMac connected to the laptop via thunderbolt. The status for the files in the resource manager is "Access denied". If I replace the missing files with themself again, then status is OK, even after a document reopen on the iMac. Luckily the link connections when opening the document on the laptop are also still OK even after updating them from the iMac. But they reset to "access denied" each time the file is saved again from the laptop. Am I doing something wrong or is it something that can be fixed?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.