Jump to content
PhotoJoseph

How do you clear a document's history?

Recommended Posts

Under the NTFS file system, switching the save history off and then saving the file works. I'd expect other file systems to be the same, but I've been wrong before!  I don't believe there's any way of doing it "directly" (switching it off strikes me as being pretty direct :)).


AP user, running Win10

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, PhotoJoseph said:

How do you clear it? Just turn it off and back on?

Just turn it off & save the document. That removes any saved history from it. If you turn it back on after opening the file again, only the history steps recorded afterwards will be saved.

 

IOW, whenever you save the document, the save or don't save history setting in effect at that time will be applied to the file.


Affinity Photo 1.9.2, Affinity Designer 1.9.2, Affinity Publisher 1.9.2;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.9.1.225 & Affinity Designer 1.9.1 (showing 1.9.7) for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.4 (18D52)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, IanSG said:

 (switching it off strikes me as being pretty direct :)).

Fair enough. I specific command "clear document history" would be welcome though, as that's explicit and not a workaround. And fewer steps. But yes, this works too!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, PhotoJoseph said:

Fair enough. I specific command "clear document history" would be welcome though, as that's explicit and not a workaround. And fewer steps. But yes, this works too!

The history is saved in the document file only if & when "Save history with document" is enabled on the File menu. That menu item is not a workaround; in effect it is the specific command for this.

 

That is because unless you save the document with it enabled the history is not saved as a part of the document file -- it only exists in memory & uses no file space. So there is no point in a "clear document history" command. It would not do anything the existing menu item does not already do, other than to defeat the purpose of the History panel by deleting from memory the data that feature must access to function. 


Affinity Photo 1.9.2, Affinity Designer 1.9.2, Affinity Publisher 1.9.2;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.9.1.225 & Affinity Designer 1.9.1 (showing 1.9.7) for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.4 (18D52)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clear history would still be really nice though, as it would allow clearing the history from memory whilst working on a doc to help performance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Alex W said:

Clear history would still be really nice though, as it would allow clearing the history from memory whilst working on a doc to help performance.

It is very useful in Photoshop - after gigantic operations you KNOW you wont need to undo. 

image.png.465b766125114a79960d5d83b8d5e162.png

It is there in Photoshop for a purpose. Affinity doesn't use scratch disks so I don't know exactly how much purge history would benefit performance.  

Purge memory

You can improve system performance by freeing up unused memory and scratch disk space from Photoshop to make it available to other programs. To do so, choose one of these options:

  • Edit > Purge > All
  • Edit > Purge > Undo
  • Hold down Option (macOS) or Alt (Windows) and choose About Photoshop

If other programs are actively trying to allocate or use the memory, freeing up memory in Photoshop will improve performance. Freeing up scratch disk space will be beneficial if you're out of space on a disk volume. If you free up significant memory or disk space, Photoshop will be slower the next time you open large files, while Photoshop allocates space.

If you want Photoshop to always use less memory, choose Edit > Preferences > Performance (Windows) or Photoshop > Preferences > Performance (macOS) and move the Memory Usage slider to the left.


  • "The user interface is supposed to work for me - I am not supposed to work for the user interface."
  • Computer-, operating system- and software agnostic; I am a result oriented professional. Look for a fanboy somewhere else.
  • “When a wise man points at the moon the imbecile examines the finger.” ― Confucius
  • Not an Affinity user og forum user anymore. The software continued to disappoint and not deliver.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.