You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

[Publisher 2.4] Image pinning doesn't follow text frame vertical position

Hi,

I am very new to Affinity Publisher, so I may have missed something, but there seems to be a bug with image pinning in text frames in the current version (v2.4). When pinning an image into a text frame, it is always applied as if the text frame had a vertical position set to "Top align". When the vertical position is changed (to "Bottom Align" for example), the pinned image don't follow the lines they are supposed to be attached to.

I tried to show the bug in the attached screenshots.

Best regards,

[Windows 11. Affinity Publisher 2.4. Hardware acceleration: ON and OFF.]

Capture d'écran 2024-03-17 205441.png

Capture d'écran 2024-03-17 205550.png

@nicolas7 welcome in the forum.

This is not a issue that's specific for 2.4.
It's also present in previous versions (the video below is for version 2.3.1)

I fully agree with you that pinned objects should honor the vertical position of the text in the text frame, adjust their position accordingly and follow the text if you change this setting to "Align Bottom" but also "Center Vertical".

2.3.1 video↓

Hi @nicolas7 and welcome to the forums,

This is working as expected in v2.4.0 on macOS so unsure if there is a Windows specific issue...

The Horizontal alignment setting appears to be the wrong way around on Windows... On Mac, with the Horizontal Alignment set to the Inside Left of the Character with a 0 mm offset, this is what I see, which looks correct...

InsideLeft.thumb.png.e24643d6e543eada62a82bae3fbef5cb.png

For the pinned object to be set to the left of the pin, I have to set the horizontal alignment to the Outside Left of the Character...

OutsideLeft.thumb.png.c5beca72d753f39968deb0b4a621f187.png

Affinity Designer 2.4.2 | Affinity Photo 2.4.2 | Affinity Publisher 2.4.2