Jump to content

Affinity Designer (1.10.4 MacOS 10.13.6) complete undo does not clear "[Modified]" in tab title bar


Recommended Posts

If I modify a drawing and then undo "all the way", the tab title bar in Affinity Designer still shows "[Modified]".

It shouldn't!  I've undone all my changes.

 

Feature request: Why isn't there "Revert To ..." (or just plain old-fashioned "Revert" under the "File" menu?

 

Feature appreciation: It's great that my old 10.13 version of MacOS on a old but still perfectly adequately fast Macbook is still actively supported by Designer and that it works very well.  Thanks!

affinity-modified-not-modified.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Richard and welcome to the forums...

I would say, 'technically' you've still modified the document so I would expect it to say Modified. It's the same as if I transform a shape and then undo that transform, even though my shape is back to its original 'form', I've still modified the document itself...

If I drive my car from its parking spot, go somewhere, then come back and park it in exactly the same spot, I wouldn't say that I've not been anywhere in the car just because it is in the identical position it was before I took that journey... just my take on it.

Affinity Designer 1.7.3, Affinity Photo 1.7.3, Affinity Publisher 1.10.1 | Affinity Designer Beta 1.10.3.1, Affinity Photo Beta 1.10.2.266 | MacBook Pro 16GB, macOS Monterey 12.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Hangman said:

I wouldn't say that I've not been anywhere in the car just because it is in the identical position it was before I took that journey...

Nor would a traffic warden ... ;)

Ali 🙂

Just beginning to learn how to use my DSLR again after 20 years!
Running Affinity Suite 1.10.4 on Windows 11 17" HP Envy i7 (8th Gen) & Windows 11 MS Surface Go 3 alongside MS365 (Insider Channel).

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, Richard Mlynarik said:

Feature request: Why isn't there "Revert To ..." (or just plain old-fashioned "Revert" under the "File" menu?

What would this do that you can't do with "Undo" (Ctrl +z) and/or the History tab?

Acer XC-895 : Core i5-10400 Hexa-core 2.90 GHz :  32GB RAM : Intel UHD Graphics 630 : Windows 10 Home
Affinity Publisher : Affinity Photo : Affinity Designer (latest release versions) | Affinity Photo for iPad

Link to comment
Share on other sites

14 hours ago, PaulEC said:

What would this do that you can't do with "Undo" (Ctrl +z) and/or the History tab?

Well, I don't know.  Pretty much every other program ever has this.  But I guess they're all just wrong.

Thanks for sharing!  It's great to have a "bug reporting" system that is really just a fanboy forum.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, Hangman said:

Hi Richard and welcome to the forums...

I would say, 'technically' you've still modified the document so I would expect it to say Modified. It's the same as if I transform a shape and then undo that transform, even though my shape is back to its original 'form', I've still modified the document itself...

If I drive my car from its parking spot, go somewhere, then come back and park it in exactly the same spot, I wouldn't say that I've not been anywhere in the car just because it is in the identical position it was before I took that journey... just my take on it.

Cool cool cool.

 

Hey we could make completely wrong analogies in terms of homotopy equivalence instead of parking, but they'd still be wrong.

 

Here's the deal.  In EVERY OTHER PROGRAM IN THE UNIVERSE that has an "undo" feature, when you've undone every single change that you made, you now have something to which no changes have been made.

If there's nothing left to undo, the document is unchanged, and I don't need to worry about saving modifications.

It really is that simple.

Man, what a waste of time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Giving you an answer you don't like doesn't mean forumers are fan boys...

But don't forget Affinity apps memorise the history, so, it's a modification.

And as another example try modifying a document in ID: the "*" meaning [modified] will remain, even if you undo all your steps to get back to the original state. So I'm not sure to see a difference here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.