Jump to content

Copying adjustments from one photo to another


Recommended Posts

Hello all.

I am in the process of trying (very hard) to extract myself from the Adobe CC ecosystem. So far Affinity Photo seems the prime candidate. But there is just one thing. I realize that Affinity (like Photoshop) does not have a DAM built in but by any chance is there some way to copy standard adjustments (exposure, white balance, saturation, contrast, etc...) from one photo to another?

If I have say 24 photos taken at the same spot with the exact same lighting conditions, Lightroom allows me to copy one photo's adjustements onto the others, thus saving me lots of time in editing the whole session.

Is what I am describing feasible in Affinitty?

Please say yes. :)

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi TheEvilDonut,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
If you are working with RAW's in Develop Persona you can save presets from each tab section (Basic, Lens, Details etc) using the Preset dropdow at the top of each section. Currently there's no way to save the settings of all those tabs into a "global" preset (or a XMP sidecar file).

Link to post
Share on other sites
36 minutes ago, GabrielM said:

Hi @TheEvilDonut ,

Welcome to the forums. 

Sure. You can use macros for this

Macros

Or, you can just copy-paste the adjustments layers from one photo to another. 

Thanks,

Gabe. 

Sadly. neither of those works in the Develop persona.  Copying adjustment layers is a great idea though - I wish I'd heard of it sooner!  Given that this is one of many questions that's asked on a regular basis, is there an FAQ  section anywhere?

AP user, running Win10

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
16 hours ago, MEB said:

If you are working with RAW's in Develop Persona you can save presets from each tab section (Basic, Lens, Details etc) using the Preset dropdow at the top of each section. Currently there's no way to save the settings of all those tabs into a "global" preset (or a XMP sidecar file).

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, MEB said:

Hi IanSG,
Lightroom has been around for quite some time, Affinity Photo is still in its first version. There will be more improvements in Develop Persona in the next updates/upgrades. The dev team just needs time.

Hi MEB

Please don't get me wrong - I'm not attacking AP or the developers!!  I just think this is one area where (at the moment :)) there's a big difference between what LR can do and the way it's implemented, and what can be done with AP.  

AP user, running Win10

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

No worries Ian :) I don't think you were attacking anyone...Affinity Photo still have limitations in a few areas - that's true -. The dev teams are well aware of them but i don't think they have finished here yet. That's what i meant. Hopefully we may see some changes in v1.7 already.

Link to post
Share on other sites

So, this brings me to a similar question I had.

I use a handful of Topaz filters on the macOS version. Obviously, I can't use these filters on the iPad. I generally just accept the defaults on the filter. Is there a way to figure out what each filter I like does (kinda like a compare for a before or after) and build a macro I can use on the iPad that gets me close enough?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi Brammy,
Macros are not able to record actions provided by external plugins so there's no way to do this on the iPad (neither use them with macros in the desktop version). 

[EDIT] Please see John Rostron's reply below. I completely missed the point.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that @Brammy was asking if it was possible to work out what standard Affinity filters or adjustments would give the sane effect as the Topaz filter. If this were possible, then it would be possible to create an equivalent macro.

My guess is that it could be possible in some, but not all, cases. It would, however involve a lot of fiddly and time-consuming work. Probably not worth the effort. This is why filters such as those from Topaz and Nik are so popular!

John

Windows 10, Affinity Photo 1.9.2 Designer 1.9.2 and Publisher 1.9.2 (mainly Photo), now ex-Adobe CC

CPU: AMD A6-3670. RAM: 16 GB DDR3 @ 666MHz, Graphics: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 630

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/18/2018 at 3:21 PM, MEB said:

Hi TheEvilDonut,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
If you are working with RAW's in Develop Persona you can save presets from each tab section (Basic, Lens, Details etc) using the Preset dropdow at the top of each section. Currently there's no way to save the settings of all those tabs into a "global" preset (or a XMP sidecar file).

 

On 6/18/2018 at 3:21 PM, MEB said:

Hi TheEvilDonut,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
If you are working with RAW's in Develop Persona you can save presets from each tab section (Basic, Lens, Details etc) using the Preset dropdow at the top of each section. Currently there's no way to save the settings of all those tabs into a "global" preset (or a XMP sidecar file).

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi petem56,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
Click the Preset dropdown on top of each section (Basic, Lens, Details and Tones) in Develop Persona and select Add Preset after you set the sliders/adjustments as you want. Give it a name and save it. You can then access the saved preset from the same  dropdown.

add_preset.png.310131c044f5d98de765e4f68a870eaf.png

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 years later...

Hi,

Has there been any progress in this area? I too have migrated from LR to Affinity, but in my line of photography I need to copy settings to large numbers of images. For example, I have a shoot to process, and have applied 3 live filters and 2 adjustments to an image in the Photo persona, and now need to apply the same settings to up to 300 images. In LR, I would simply copy the settings of the source image, highlight the destination images and paste. The previews would then be adjusted accordingly in a few seconds. After that initial work is done, then I would just need to make tweaks, if necessary, to individual images.

What's the most efficient way to do this?

I understand that I cannot realistically open 300 images in AP, but can I copy and paste the group of settings to 6 opened images at a time (one at a time even), and work my way through the shoot this way? Is there a way to copy and paste all the settings, or save them as a preset for future application?

Thanks.

[UPDATE] I have discovered that it's possible to group live filters and adjustments, and then copy and paste the group to another image. Is there a way I can paste such a group to multiple images simultaneously?

Edited by eightysevens
Update of knowledge.

Affinity Photo 1.8.3.641 / Affinity Publisher 1.8.3.641 - Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit SP2 - Clevo P150EM - i7 2.7ghz quad - 8gb RAM - HD2000

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.