Jump to content

Recommended Posts

This may be a silly question, but I can't seem to figure out how to delete a project from the iPad version. Is there any way to do this or am I missing something? Thanks in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello MEB,

 

the only menu entry I see there is 'rename'. Looks like I cannot delete a project that contains images. How do I delete a project with all of its images?

 

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am having this problem too. However, when I tap the 3-bar menu for a project I only can choose from close, rename, duplicate, and save

 

Oh, I see that "close" is the delete option.... I didn't expect that.

Edited by Persa
found solution

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Persa said:

I am having this problem too. However, when I tap the 3-bar menu for a project I only can choose from close, rename, duplicate, and save

 

Oh, I see that "close" is the delete option.... I didn't expect that.

 

Yes its part of the new IOS and iCloud Drive integration, the way to think of it is that when you load into Affinity Photo, your file is managed in a sandbox with all edits and saved handled automatically. But, it is only a sandbox which is a temporary place to store your files, you need to press save to store either in you iPad files or iCloud Drive storage area for any long term storage. Once you have saved your files you can close them and they are deleted from the temporary internal sandbox.It is certainly a change from earlier versions but makes for a better workflow especially if you also work occasionally on desktop version too.

 


Affinity Photo 1.8, Designer 1.8, Publisher 1.8 on MACOS Catalina and Windows 10.
Affinity Photo 1.8, Designer 1.8 on iPad Pro 9.7" iPadOS 13.5 beta.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/affinityforipad/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AffinityPhoto/

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/19/2017 at 10:12 PM, beutelmull said:

Hello MEB,

 

the only menu entry I see there is 'rename'. Looks like I cannot delete a project that contains images. How do I delete a project with all of its images?

 

Best regards

Hi, I quote this cause it's 2 years old and still no answers. 

When clicking the 3 lines icon sometimes the only option available is Rename, on other projects I have the usual  Save, Close, etc....WHY? 

Thanks 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Massi said:

When clicking the 3 lines icon sometimes the only option available is Rename, on other projects I have the usual  Save, Close, etc....WHY? 

When documents are organized into 'project' containers (basically what would be a folder on desktop systems) your only option is "Rename." This is true even if there is just one document in the project. To delete anything in a project, tap it to open the project & you should have all the usual options for each item in it.

Once a project container is empty (contains no documents) you should have two options, Close (for when you want to keep the empty project for future use) & Delete (when you don't).

BTW, there is now a separate forum for Affinity on iPad questions.


Affinity Photo 1.8.3, Affinity Designer 1.8.3, Affinity Publisher 1.8.3; macOS Mojave 10.14.6 iMac (27-inch, Late 2012); 2.9GHz i5 CPU; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M; 8GB RAM
Affinity Photo 
1.8.3.180 & Affinity Designer 1.8.3.2 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 13.3.1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.