You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Importing transparent png issues

I am new to Affinity photo(a convert from photoshop. I am having the weirdest issue, when I import a png graphic that has a transparent background when it opens in Affinity photo, it shows the checkerboard background when it supposed to appear transparent. Like what am I missing here, 😕 is there a setting that could fix this?? Thanks 

Hi @acehan80

A checkered background is the way applications display transparency.

Any other solid color would be confusing.

[edit] If you come from PS, you already know this.

Are you sure it's a transparent. PNG, and not a preview of a transparent one like they use on sites selling them? [/edit]

Wosven your right, it shows a checkered background and should not. I am using the actual png with transparency and not a preview of one. If you have 

an example I could use I will import that to see if that works. I do have experience with graphic design, but new to affinity photo, and so far its very quirky , I dont like how it handles stacks and how it handles this very issue transparency, but im starting to love what everybody else is doing with it, so im learning and wont give up. I also saw threads where others were having similar issues but no resolve was given. I believe its a bug with this program and my Windows 10. appreciate any feedback or help, thanks community!

18 minutes ago, acehan80 said:

Every transparent png file I dragged from my desktop shows the transparent gridlines

Do they go away if you turn off Document > Transparent Background?

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.