You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

[Usability request] Add New fill layer to layers panel and more

Do it for the children, at least:

1. Add New fill layer to the layers panel - it makes no sense to isolate it in the layers menu.
  2. When the fill layer is created - it would be a good idea to pop up a colour picker like Photoshop does - chances are... that will be your next step in your workflow. It simply speeds up the workflow and saves you time and swear words.

image.png.e81b95e3ca0fdfc9f40234942c98871f.png 

• "The user interface is supposed to work for me - I am not supposed to work for the user interface."
  • Computer-, operating system- and software agnostic; I am a result oriented professional. Look for a fanboy somewhere else.
  • “When a wise man points at the moon the imbecile examines the finger.” ― Confucius
  • Not an Affinity user og forum user anymore. The software continued to disappoint and not deliver.

5 hours ago, Jowday said:

Add New fill layer to the layers panel - it makes no sense to isolate it in the layers menu.

Agreed...  and same goes with pattern layers.

5 hours ago, Jowday said:

it would be a good idea to pop up a colour picker

You can use the color panel or the swatches panel for this.  Most users are likely to have one of those visible already.

Suggest instead that double-clicking on the layer in the Layers panel should pop up a color picker.

1 hour ago, fde101 said:

Agreed...  and same goes with pattern layers.

You can use the color panel or the swatches panel for this.  Most users are likely to have one of those visible already.

Suggest instead that double-clicking on the layer in the Layers panel should pop up a color picker.

I prefer that Designer spare me these clicks and activate the color picker directly - the more the better. There are so many required extra clicks and actions in Affinity.