You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I am new to Affinity and for the most part I'm finding it easy and intuitive. I am, however, experiencing some difficulty in making the filters work. I make adjustments but nothing happens. I thought when I first tried it did work but I'm not sure. Read the help, looked at tutorials and appears I'm doing everything right. Any help would be appreciated.

• Staff

Hi Dougier,

Welcome to the Forums :)

Could you please apply a filter to one of your projects and if it doesn't work attach that project to this post along with the name of the filter you tried to apply?

Thanks

C

Please tag me using @ in your reply so I can be sure to respond ASAP.

This is very bizarre! I've been trying this over the last few days and nothing has seemed to work. After reading your message I went in and tried to replicate so I could attach a project and submit, however, everything worked perfectly.

Obviously something I am doing wrong just not sure what. Either that or you are magic! LOL

thanks again for your quick response

dougie

• 5 months later...

Hello,

I am no expert. I am just trying to follow along.  And do not speak for any of the experts at Affinity.

That being said, my first thought is that you are not selecting your photo's layer.  When you add an adjustment, you can see it adds its own layer to the stack.  I believe you can change that behavior in the preferences, but that's for another time.

So I took your photo. I added an exposure adjustment. I then went to add a twirl filter, but by default I was still on the last layer I was working on, which was the adjustment.  I selected my photo layer, and applied the twirl filter.

If I am understanding your situation, I believe you need to just make sure you have the right layer selected you want to work on.

If I misunderstood, I apologize in advance.

Thank you for your suggestion. If I understand you correctly, that after copying the original: