Jump to content
wigglepixel

[AD 1.8.3] After exporting Affinity thinks something has changed

Recommended Posts

After exporting to a file (to svg or jpg for example) of an already up-to-date-saved afdesign-file, Affinity thinks something has changed to the file (even though nothing has changed), and asks us to save the file when closing the tab. Even if we didn't change the export settings.

This makes this confirmation box unreliable and therefore error prone, as we can't tell by this message if something really has changed, or it's this issue again just saying something has changed, but is not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something must have changed, as far as Designer is concerned, even if you think it didn't. Probably it's export settings.

To start figuring out what:

  1. Save the file.
  2. Look at the History panel, and note the last entry in it (or take a screenshot)
  3. Export
  4. Look at the History panel again. You will probably see a change has happened, because it is changes to the History that trigger that confirmation message about saving.

This is how the Affinity applications have worked since at least 1.6, and probably much longer. I don't recall if Serif considers this a bug, or an area that could be improved (Feature Request), or working as they want it to work, though I know it has come up before. Maybe another user knows, but if not I'm sure one of the Serif staff will let us know.


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 2004 (19041.388),
   Desktop: 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00GHz, GeForce GTX 970
   Laptop:  8GB memory, Intel Core i7-3625QM @ 2.30GHz, Intel HD Graphics 4000 or NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M
Affinity Photo 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the export setting are the same as the last time you exported the file you will not be asked to save it.

If you change the export settings, say from png to jpg or change the quality setting for a jpg file then you will be asked to save the file as those last used values are hardcoded into the file. I would say that this ia not a bug as it's very useful to open an old file and to see/use the same export setting you used previously.

But "certain other settings" (not including the exported w & h values) when changed do not prompt you to save the file, but if you continue working on the file and save it, then those ""certain other settings" you changed are actually saved with the file even though you were not prompted to save them. This looks like a bug

So, I can conclusively conclude it is not a bug and it is a bug, a bit like Schrödinger's cat.


Due to the fact that Boris Johnson is now our Prime Minister, punctuation, spelling and grammar will never be worried about ever again.  We now have far bigger problems to be worried about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@walt.farrell @Wosven @carl123

Guys, I know what's happening here. That's why I posted this issue. Telling what I already know doesn't solve this issue. That's up to Serif.

To clear things up further:

1) I saved the afdesign-file right before exporting, so I'm sure nothing has changed.
2) I didn't change any export settings.
3) Export settings and export path aren't saved in the afdesign file, but globally instead at app space. To verify this just open file a.afdesign, export it to a jpg and save a.afdesign again. Open file b.afdesign and export it to a svg. Than open a.afdesign again and see it's not on jpg, but on svg. That proves the settings aren't saved into the afdesign file. Also the export path is clearly not saved into the file, but stored globally too.
4) I test things several times and don't post an issue if I'm not sure

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, wigglepixel said:

Guys, I know what's happening here.

But that would mean that you already know that Exporting did make a change to the file, because you know that the History changed. And since the file was changed, you also know that the prompt to save is appropriate.

In that case, rather than reporting a bug, shouldn't you be posting a Feature Request asking that Affinity not consider that kind of change to be important, or not record that change to the file?


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 2004 (19041.388),
   Desktop: 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00GHz, GeForce GTX 970
   Laptop:  8GB memory, Intel Core i7-3625QM @ 2.30GHz, Intel HD Graphics 4000 or NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M
Affinity Photo 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/17/2020 at 2:20 PM, walt.farrell said:

But that would mean that you already know that Exporting did make a change to the file, because you know that the History changed.

Not sure what your motivation is for these kind of responses, but it's not coming across as helpful to me. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, wigglepixel said:

Not sure what your motivation is for these kind of responses, but it's not coming across as helpful to me. 

 

Sorry.

But you're saying "nothing changed" and also that you understand what's happening. I'm trying to point out that something did change, and how you can verify that. You did something that Affinity considered to be a change, and recorded in the History. Once the History has changed, you will be prompted to Save when you try to close the file.

Perhaps you should Export first, then Save?


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 2004 (19041.388),
   Desktop: 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00GHz, GeForce GTX 970
   Laptop:  8GB memory, Intel Core i7-3625QM @ 2.30GHz, Intel HD Graphics 4000 or NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M
Affinity Photo 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.8.4.693 and 1.8.5.703 Beta.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Wigglepixel,

I've spoken to development and they've said that the command shouldn't be added to the History list which is what is causing it to mark the document as modified. I'll get this reported.

Thanks for letting us know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, Sean P said:

I've spoken to development and they've said that the command shouldn't be added to the History list which is what is causing it to mark the document as modified. I'll get this reported.

Thanks @Sean P. That's very much appreciated!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.