You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

A newbie here, enjoying this awesome program and the excellent video tutorials.  There is an adage that 'the photo never lies' but after seeing only some of the editing techniques I wonder if, to that adage, we should add ' ...unless it is a digital photo'. 

I have tried searching "forensics" as I was wondering if the various photo editing techniques are detectable from the finished image.  I hasten to add that I have not bought this programme with any intention of committing a crime or hiding / manipulating evidence!

I am just curious as to whether a pixel altered photo (AP or otherwise) is detectable in some way by scanning the resulting image.  Would for instance entering an AP edited photo be acceptable in a photographic competition.

Sorry if this topic has been addressed in previous posts - if is has perhaps someone could direct me thereto? 

Thank you for a first-rate piece of software.

cambshiregordon

• Staff

Hi cambshiregordon,

With respect to whether AP-edited images would be allowed in a photography competition, that's totally down to the terms of the specific competition... I submitted edited photos to a camera club and won, but the club were happy for their members to 'enhance' their photos however they saw fit - it was the end result that mattered in that club - whereas other clubs may have a strict 'as shot' policy.

There are often tell-tales in any manipulated image - often the absence of noise or indeed noise being too regular, other artefacts seen around compositing/blending with non-linear gamma, things like that... but most of them can be minimised to the point where it's very hard to tell... but if someone was desperate to tell, they probably could...

Thanks,

Matt