You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

(Beginner): how to proceed when designing a book cover with a spine that contrasts with both front and back?

I watched quite a number of tutorials on book cover design and at one point almost felt as if I now had a basic concept of how it's done. In the case of Amazon KDP, they give a template for the paperback. So creating a cover for KDP paperback is about, in its essence, creating layers that will fill the template space: background layer, layer for the front cover, layer for the spine, and layer for the back cover. 

That's what I, a total beginner, thought. And some tutorials do seem to go about it that way. But is this the right way to think about it? I am wondering about creating a cover like this one, Tony Judt's Postwar. When the back cover is a continuation of the front cover but the spine is not (spine here is in stark contrast to both covers in color, with no graphics), what are the ways to create the spine? In such a case, I sort of guessed that there must be a background layer, two layer groups (for front and back), and a layer for the spine; you place the background layer first, then the layer for the spine (with its fill color) and then proceed with designing the front and back. 

Is that the right way to think about it? This seems like something that can be taught in a single class and become intuitive right away but becomes mysterious for a self-learner surrounded with somewhat confusing tutorials. 

So my quesetion is: when creating a paperback cover with a spine that severely contrasts with both front and back, what would be the good ways to do it? 

• Staff
6 hours ago, Amy Choue said:

In such a case, I sort of guessed that there must be a background layer, two layer groups (for front and back), and a layer for the spine; you place the background layer first, then the layer for the spine (with its fill color) and then proceed with designing the front and back.