You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

How to do these things with find/replace?

Hello All, 

I know the GREP topic has been discussed extensively on the forum and I sincerely hope my questions are not repetitive (I have searched the forum but have not found the answers to my questions, which makes me hopeful my questions will not be duplicates).

Using the find/replace function, how do you

1). Change Multiple Space to Single space in a document?

2). Find Multiple Return and change to Single return?

3). Remove spaces at the beginning and end of paragraphs?

4). Remove extra tabs?

5). Change straight quotes to curly quotes?

Please realise I have zero knowledge about GREP. I only know that 2 of the 5 tasks outlined in my questions are carried out using GREP and so I need to know how to do these things in APu

Thank you.

4 hours ago, Horizon3 said:

1). Change Multiple Space to Single space in a document?

\s+ ---> space

Goto Find->Special characters->Paragraph Break

add + at the end and replace with Paragraph Break

3). Remove spaces at the beginning and end of paragraphs?

In the beginning:

^\s+ ---> space

at the end:

(\s)+ paragraph break sign replace to paragraph break

4). Remove extra tabs?

Goto Find->Special characters->Tab

add + and replace with Tab

5). Change straight quotes to curly quotes?

copy quotes which you want to replace and paste them into the appropriate windows

You might find this web site of interest for learning more about Regular Expression processing: https://www.regular-expressions.info

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.