You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Images imported are being whited out/pixelated

I don't know what is causing this and I am at my wit's end.  I am trying to import tif images that I previously had no problem with until a couple of days ago.  When I import them into Affinity they become whited out with a pixel grid over them.  Then I cannot keep this from happening again even if I try to fix them in levels (which doesn't put them back to normal). When I import the same images into Photoline this also happens, but when I import them into Lightroom or Acorn they look normal (at least fixable in Lightroom).  I am very concerned.   I have a lot of experience with Photoshop (which I no longer use due to subscriptions) so I think there is a setting that I have to undo but please advise.  Attached is a screenshot of what is happening (black and white square image saved as a jpeg).

Edit: I am using version 1.10.6 on Mac Catalina 10.15.7.

sceenshot-affinity.jpg

Can you zip the TIFF file and share that?

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.3, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.3.1

I'll try but the zip will still be very large.  It seems to possibly respond to the levels setting but I can't fix it back to the way it was before.   I don't know if it a mask, I don't use masks not on purpose anyway.  I don't know if it's a layer but I only see background layer displayed.

It is happening with multiple images so I'm afraid to work on anything important at this point.

Thanks

Killarmey-Flowers-New-1.tif.zip