You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Cross-references, numbered chapters, additional fields

I have been using Publisher for a few months now. I liked it because of its intuitive layout and ease of use compared to Scribus or InDesign.

However, when I started using it to layout a project of mine, a pen and paper RPG book, I found that some critical parts of it were missing, namely:

1. Ability to number chapters/points by selecting the headers and formatting them as a numbered list. At the moment, I'm writing the numbers manually for the main chapters, but the subchapters are almost impossible to track, because if I have to add or modify anything, they won't self-update.
  2. Cross-references are tough. TOCs work fine, as do indexes, and hyperlinks, but the text of the hyperlinks is fixed and can't be self-updated. Even a word processor like MS Word has the option of inserting cross-references and have the text be automatically the page number, the chapter number, or the text of the header (would be the anchor, in your case).
  3. Automatic fields are very limited, to the point that besides the document metadata, the current date/time, or the current number of pages, it can't barely do a thing. Adding more would be great, or at least offer the option to script the fields in some way, in that case we could at least try to do so, by selecting properties of objects (like the page number of an anchor, for instance).

9 hours ago, OriolFM said:

1. Ability to number chapters/points by selecting the headers and formatting them as a numbered list. At the moment, I'm writing the numbers manually for the main chapters, but the subchapters are almost impossible to track, because if I have to add or modify anything, they won't self-update.

This capability already exists, I believe, using a Paragraph Text Style and the options in Bullets and Numbering that I have marked below:

image.png.7fa25e3a17c3c5b3645fddbc004aede9.png