You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

No, Designer does not offer that function. Perhaps in the future, but for now it requires the Text Frame studio panel, which is available only in Publisher.

I'm a bit surprised that Designer did not remove the fill when you converted the Rectangle to a Text Frame; it does for me using 1.7.2.471 on Windows (as it did in 1.6, but not (I believe) in 1.7.0 and 1.7.1).

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.4.1, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.4.1

Here Designer removes the fill when a shape is turned into a text frame. And there is no way of changing the background color.

To change the background color first duplicate the shape you intend to convert to a text frame and group them. The new text frame has a transparent background so you can change the color of the shape under it to whatever color you want. Or just move it over any other shape of any color.

-- Window 11 - 32 gb - Intel I7 - 8700 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
-- iPad Pro 2020 - 12,9 - 256 gb - Apple Pencil 2 -- iPad 9th gen 256 gb - Apple Pencil 1
-- Macbook Air 15"

Thank you. We work on Mac OS X an we have a work around: open the document in Publisher, change the colour, save and then open in Affinity Designer again. So please don't remove the possibility to convert aa object to a text frame and keep the colour. But of course the possibility to edit text frames in Affinity Designer would be perfect.

iMac 27'', Mac OS X Ventura 13.2.1 (22D68)

• 6 months later...
  • 1 year later...