You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Importing pdf into Publisher

I have seen that the only method for getting my old technical book that I have been working on for many years is to import it the new publisher is to bring it in as a pdf.  That present a serious problem for me as the text is broken up into single line text and small groups that have no bearing for the some 25 chapters I had started this project with.  I didn't notice any methods for importing  chapters as a final book from directories that seperated the chapters either.

Is there any way we can select text and have it brought into a topic group with its proper text and styles?

HI jboone

As PDF is generally a final output format, text is not preserved in it i n the same way as having a text frame in a native application is. Therefore when we import a PDF we have to estimate what is text and how it is represented. The team has tried to create text styles from text imported in PDFs but it has not been as successful as they would like so it is not included yet. There is an option on the import dialog that allows you to group lines of text into a single frame but this is also a best guess scenario. 

You may be able to get most of the way there from the import alone but it is going to require some tweaking after to get it to look exactly the way you'd want it I;m afraid. Even other apps like Acrobat break the text into individual blocks for a similar reason

Cheers

Serif Europe Ltd - Check the latest news at www.affinity.serif.com