You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Constant crashing, can't even use the knife tool without it crashing

Amara N

I just bought and started using affinity designer recently and I love it but ever since I got it it's been crashing all the time. I'm a beginner so I'm not even running anything super heavy on it or anything. Now I am trying to use the knife tool and every time I try to use it the entire application closes and I lose my progress. Please help

Have you tried disabling Open CL Hardware Acceleration in Affinity preferences -> performance ? And restarting the application, of course.

Just un-check that option (you can and should leave your graphics card selected, in the field above that). Exit the app, and run Designer again, try and see if it crashes then. Specially try with the knife tool.

AD, AP and APub. V1.10.6 (not using v1.x anymore) and V2.4.x. Windows 10 and Windows 11. 

21 hours ago, SrPx said:

Have you tried disabling Open CL Hardware Acceleration in Affinity preferences -> performance ? And restarting the application, of course.

Just un-check that option (you can and should leave your graphics card selected, in the field above that). Exit the app, and run Designer again, try and see if it crashes then. Specially try with the knife tool.

I just tried that, and the issue persists. I'm able to make one "cut" with the knife tool and anything after that the program just quits.

Oki, I am assuming you changed the open cl thing to off, and immediately after exited the program normally without crashes, for the preference to be really saved. Also because only once restarted takes effect for the crashes not to happen.

I just tried to use the knife (hadn't tried yet since v2). I can do all sorts of knife cuts in standard geometric shapes or in paths I draw with the pen or pencil.

But I am using the beta! So, 2.0.3 1670, not the official release 2.0.