You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I'm fairly new to Affinity Photo and I've been figuring out how to do the things I learned in Photoshop in Affinity. One thing I had in CS6 was a macro that cropped an image, confirmed the crop, then finished by saving the image. I have figured out how to make most of my original macro, but adding 'Save' doesn't seem to be an option. If I stop the recording, save becomes an option again. Is this possible with Affinity Photo, or is there an alternative option for this?

I have not tried this, or for that matter done anything involving batch jobs, but might it be possible to process one or more image files as a batch job & apply the cropping macro that way?

All 3 1.10.8, & all 3 V2.4.1 Mac apps; 2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.8; Affinity Designer 1.108; & all 3 V2 apps for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7

The built in help file documentation & the two videos @v_kyr mentioned still leave a lot unanswered regarding applying macros in batch jobs. For example:

• Assuming one can select files from several different folders for one job & "Save into original location" is ticked, is each file really saved into its individual original folder & what happens if there is a name/filetype conflict with the original?

• What happens with macros that offer user interaction, either with a,b, and/or c value sliders or with macro steps that expose one of the available Settings options available from the cog icon during recording?

• What can we expect in terms of memory efficiency & CPU use, particularly when Parallel processing is enabled?

• What happens if a file can't be processed to completion & saved, for example because the save location runs out of available space or some other process interferes with access to it?