You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Basic Question About Exporting and Resizing For The Web

Hello. I have an image I want to export and use on a website. I need to reduce it to a certain size. In choosing the export option I am presented with the dialogue box as seen in the attached image file. 

Questions:

1. Which resample option is best?
  2. What does the Progressive check box do?

Sorry for the very basic question. I have little to no experience with image editing and do not know terminology or workflow options.

Thanks in advance.

post-3512-0-78090400-1423765959_thumb.png

Reality is perception. Perception is reality. You are in charge of both.

iMac  |  21.5  |  Mid 2011                 MacBook Air  |  13 inch  |  Early 2015

2.5 GHz  |  i5 quad                          1.6 GHz  |  Core i5

20 GB Ram  |  10.12.6                     8 GB Ram  |  10.13.6

• Staff

@Mediafuel,

1) Overall Lanczos is the best resampling option if you want to scale down your images since it's able to get a sharper result than Bicubic.

2) The progressive checkbox creates a jpeg that will render on screen ("fade in") while it's still being loaded by the browser. This helps to create the perception that the page is loading faster since the images are being immediately displayed as soon as the browser starts loading a webpage.

If this option is unchecked, the browser will render the image in blocks, one after another until it completes the image. 

Here's a demo displaying the differences between the two options.

NOTE: Apple Safari may have trouble displaying progressives jpeg's. If that's the case check the demo in Google Chrome.

Thank you MEB.  :)

Very helpful! Cheers

Reality is perception. Perception is reality. You are in charge of both.

iMac  |  21.5  |  Mid 2011                 MacBook Air  |  13 inch  |  Early 2015

2.5 GHz  |  i5 quad                          1.6 GHz  |  Core i5