Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DBoy

Car Photography Noob

4 posts in this topic

I am new to photography and the entire post editing process all together.  There are a lot of flaws I'm sure but I really enjoy working with Affinity Photo and enjoy all of the work I have seen here thus far.  Please enjoy and let me know what could be addressed if you care to share:)

aaaa50_6c8c6251b0384b1c87be08266219ffc8~mv2.png

Cruising.png

Honda.png

IMG_1624.png

IMG_1698.png

IMG_1701.png

Jaguar2.png

MG_Full_FR.png

VW_Mustang.png

Watermark636413456225214989.png

Welcome to the forum DBoy.

I'm not a photographer and I don't do much "proper" image manipulation so I can't really comment on your techniques but I can give you my initial reactions to viewing the images.

In the order in which I can see the photos posted, top to bottom:
1. Nice subject but the "double sun" kind of spoils it a bit. Too much light, or too many points of focus? Also, and I don't know if it's because of the car's paint or effects used but there are areas that look odd. For instance, the lighter lines on the lower bumper and rear wheel arch are areas where it looks a bit "false/pixelated" but I can't explain why.
2. Don't have a problem with this one of the bike. I like the way the subject seems to be stationary and the background is moving. The image is a bit grainy - a bit "newspaper image" - but I quite like it that way. A surveillance photo perhaps?
3. Nothing to say about this one really. Maybe a bit bright on the left perhaps, or too dark on the right?
4. I like the grainy effect on this one. Dirty and rugged. It doesn't work well at full-size but it looks nice at smaller sizes.
5. The car on the right looks great - in the smaller size image, not so much at full-size - but there's something going on to the left that doesn't look correct to me. Couldn't say what it was though. Should it be more out-of-focus? I don't know.