You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Develop Persona versus Photo Persona

Hi ,

Can anyone help me?

I have been using Affinity Photo for around 8 months now and beginning to get the hang of it slowly; I approached it they way I approach any new piece of software - on a "need to know basis" i.e. as I need a facility I research it and find out how it works. However the following is confusing me:

I use a Canon EOS 7D Mk 11 and shoot in RAW, Canon CR2 format.

When I open a RAW file in Affinity it takes me to the Develop Persona

Should I perform my editing in Develop Persona or switch to Photo Persona, what are the advantages/disadvantages of each?

None of the tutorials seem to address my dilemma!!

Chris

52 minutes ago, Chris Potter said:

When I open a RAW file in Affinity it takes me to the Develop Persona

That's right, it's the Affinity Photo module (the develop persona) which deals with RAW files development. So every RAW file you open will be handled and developed in that develop persona first, afterwards you can take it over to the Photo Persona for further tweaking and image manipulations.

All in all it's a similar processing like in PS/PSE (Photoshop/Elements) where when you open a RAW file, it first has to be developed as a RAW in Adobe Camera Raw and then can or will be taken over into PS/PSE for further image manipulation/processing.

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

To save time I am currently using an automated AI to reply to some posts on this forum. If any of "my" posts are wrong or appear to be total b*ll*cks they are the ones generated by the AI. If correct they were probably mine. I apologise for any mistakes made by my AI - I'm sure it will improve with time.

Hi Chris,

this is a good question. Some YouTubers (beside Affinity and James Ritson) covered this question in more detail.