Jump to content
ConnectCreative

Auto-selecting objects when I delete something

Recommended Posts

I'm assuming this is something I've inadvertently turned on, but I can't for the life of me see where or how: whenever I delete something (in either Designer/Photo/Publisher) the program will automatically select another item rather than leave my selection blank like it always has. Very frustrating since I constantly have to click some white space to clear the selection. The 'auto-selection' randomly picks any other item on the art-board.

How can I turn this off please?!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not sure about this but I think this auto-select feature was introduced in one of the 1.8.x updates, either intentionally or by accident.

I do not think there is any way to turn it off.


Affinity Photo 1.8.4, Affinity Designer 1.8.4, Affinity Publisher 1.8.4;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 40GB RAM; macOS 10.15.6
Affinity Photo 
1.8.4.186 & Affinity Designer 1.8.4.4 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.0.1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, R C-R said:

I am not sure about this but I think this auto-select feature was introduced in one of the 1.8.x updates, either intentionally or by accident.

I do not think there is any way to turn it off.

Thank you for the info. I've had a look through prefs but can't see anything. I'm working on a website visual in Designer at the moment and its doing my head in! Surely there's a way to turn it off?! I can see how this would be useful in certain situations but generally i wouldn't want it to work this way.

If someone from Serif could confirm it I'd greatly appreciate it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, ConnectCreative said:

I've had a look through prefs but can't see anything.

I looked through both preferences & Assistant options, plus whatever I could find that might somehow change this in the context toolbar when certain tools are active, but no joy. 


Affinity Photo 1.8.4, Affinity Designer 1.8.4, Affinity Publisher 1.8.4;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 40GB RAM; macOS 10.15.6
Affinity Photo 
1.8.4.186 & Affinity Designer 1.8.4.4 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.0.1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, R C-R said:

I looked through both preferences & Assistant options, plus whatever I could find that might somehow change this in the context toolbar when certain tools are active, but no joy. 

Many thanks for taking the time to look through as well. I guess we'll just have to wait to see if Serif replies to confirm.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, ConnectCreative said:

I guess we'll just have to wait to see if Serif replies to confirm.

Maybe @Lee D @Callum @MEB  or one of the other staff will notice the "@" tag & reply whenever they have time.


Affinity Photo 1.8.4, Affinity Designer 1.8.4, Affinity Publisher 1.8.4;  2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 40GB RAM; macOS 10.15.6
Affinity Photo 
1.8.4.186 & Affinity Designer 1.8.4.4 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 14.0.1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, MEB said:

Hi ConnectCreative,
Yes, this behaviour was changed in v1.8x. There's currently no way to turn it off but since a few users didn't liked it either we are considering adding an option to turn it off in an upcoming build.

Hi @MEB many thanks for confirming that, it would be great if there was a pref to turn this off in the near future. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.