You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Ragged Edges on All Brushstrokes

My brush strokes & brushes in Affinity Designer/Photo always have ragged/pixelated/AA-artifacts no matter the resolution of the document.

I have made sure I am using the Brush tool and not the pixel brush tool. The same problem consists whether I toggle Windows Ink on/off in either the Wacom settings or Photo/Designer settings.

RTX-2080Ti / Wacom Intuous PTH Tablest / Windows 10

s.PNG

The smaller the width of the brush, the worse the antialias... I think. Below 80 pixels it begins to look like your examles:

36 pixels vs 400 used:

image.png.67736603be8ba81950556a36660595da.png

• "The user interface is supposed to work for me - I am not supposed to work for the user interface."
  • Computer-, operating system- and software agnostic; I am a result oriented professional. Look for a fanboy somewhere else.
  • “When a wise man points at the moon the imbecile examines the finger.” ― Confucius
  • Not an Affinity user og forum user anymore. The software continued to disappoint and not deliver.

• 3 months later...

@swobyman777 @Sean PI can explain what's going on here. It's something I noticed years ago when picking up Affinity Photo. It's all related to brush hardness. Compared to Photoshop, Affinity has much sharper brushes with next to no anti-aliasing when reaching 100%. However, you can get the brushes to look a bit more like regular Photoshop brushes by changing brush hardness to 99%. It produces a slight blur on super massive brushes, but nothing that would be super noticeable in most projects. In the vast majority of cases the brush will have that anti-alias look. Here's a video demonstration.

5 minutes ago, Frozen Death Knight said: