Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone!

I've been loving the 1.7 update and publisher, tho I've been having a issue when moving between apps, I have a project in Affinity Publisher and I wanted to move it into the (Full version of) Affinity Designer. (I know Publish haves the Designer Persona tho it dose not have the persona within designer such as the Export Persona) I needed to use the Export person to export a slice from the project.

So I went to File > Edit in Designer (this moves the project from Publisher over to Designer (full version (not persona)) I then was able to do what I needed but there seems to move no way to move the project back from Designer to Publisher?

Is there way to move the project back? (same issue from Publisher to Photo)

Thanks for your time,

Andrew.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For now you have to save the document (in Designer or Photo) the reopen it in Publisher

Hopefully, the option to Edit in Publisher will be added in a future update


Due to the ongoing Brexit negotiations, punctuation, spelling and grammar will be used sparingly until further notice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, carl123 said:

For now you have to save the document (in Designer or Photo) the reopen it in Publisher

Hopefully, the option to Edit in Publisher will be added in a future update

This is logged to be added in a future update :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, carl123 said:

For now you have to save the document (in Designer or Photo) the reopen it in Publisher

The way I understand it, the whole .afpub document is sent to Photo or Designer, even though only the current APub spread is accessible in the other two apps. Assuming I'm right about that & it always works that way, there one important thing to be aware of about using 'Edit in' in APub.

That is if there are any unsaved changes on any other APub spread than the one accessible in the other apps, you must save the document in AD or AP or those changes will be lost. So for example, if you do some edits in AP or AD & decide you don't like them, don't just close the document without saving because you will lose the unsaved changes made in the rest of the document.

Instead, use the History panel to undo the AD/AP edits, & then save the document. This should be obvious but if, like me, you sometimes close without saving in AD or AP to avoid having to roll back the history, it can be hard to break that habit.

Note: When I first started testing APub's 'Edit in' feature with the retail release, I was sometimes seeing the page open as a new untitled document in Affinity Photo, but I have not been able to repeat that glitch since.


Affinity Photo 1.7.2, Affinity Designer 1.7.2, Affinity Publisher 1.7.2; macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 iMac (27-inch, Late 2012); 2.9GHz i5 CPU; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M; 8GB RAM
Affinity Photo 1.7.2.153 & Affinity Designer 1.7.2.6 for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iOS 12.3.1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×