You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

New Purchase - Hard Copy or Digital Download?

Hello everyone,

I am in the process of exploring Affinity Photo ( on day 2 of trial ), and so far, after initial frustrations, Im beginning to enjoy the potential.

I do have a question though: at the point of purchase, is there an option to buy a physical copy, a disk, containing the programme, or is it all via digital download? Could I add it to a cd/dvd (or maybe a compact flash card/usb memory stick) to keep a hard copy? Or once purchase has been completed, is this software only accessed via an online account?

Im new to purchasing software this way; I still prefer to buy software on a disk in a box with fancy designs :D Its nice to have a physical disk to keep hold of; but maybe Im just behind on the times.

Thanks for any help.

tee cee

Hi, welcome to the Affinity forums.

Affinity software is supplied by download only - you should always, as a matter of course, keep the (downloaded) installer file on a "safe storage" medium in case you ever need to reinstall your software.  That storage medium can be a Memory Stick, flash card, another hard drive or, in your case, you can burn it as a data disc to CD (it will fit!) or to DVD.

HTH

Jeff

Win 10 Pro, i7 6700K, 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX1660 Ti and Intel HD530 Graphics

Long-time user of Serif products, chiefly PagePlus and PhotoPlus, but also WebPlus, CraftArtistProfessional and DrawPlus.  Delighted to be using Affinity Designer, Photo, and now Publisher, version 1 and now version 2.

iPad Pro (12.9") (iOS 17.4) running Affinity Photo and Designer version 1 and all three version 2 apps.

26 minutes ago, emmrecs01 said:

Hi, welcome to the Affinity forums.