You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

9-Slice Scaling for pixel and vector layers or symbols.

Hi there!

I'm a UI designer in a mobile games development company.

We use Unity and NGUI as our UI framework.

All UI elements are sprites even if it is simple square.

Pretty all elements created to be 9-Sliced (when you scale a sprite - its corners do not scale). This functionality is essential for all UI frameworks (even HTML)

Here is a video example.

Youtube link in case forum bugs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mhKJZVd58E)

Here is a thread in Photoshop Community on this topic

https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/add_9_slice_scaling_in_photoshop_cs6

Do you have this feature?

I can say for sure if you do - I will immediately switch from PS to AfD.

Our team workflow is (example names used):

1. Design an element and give it appropriate name (http://service.crazypanda.ru/v/clip2net/V/v/aNCQ1yj6tg.png)

2. Convert an element to a Smart Object and drop it into appropriate Creative Cloud Library (Atlas_Panels) so all teammates could use it. (http://service.crazypanda.ru/v/clip2net/x/f/5ZzKG4sNJB.png)

3. Place this Cloud Smart Object into a special Atlas_Panels.psd document and give a layer name a ".png" suffix. (http://service.crazypanda.ru/v/clip2net/S/e/m8DTluWUiv.png)

4. This PSD document continuously exports all assets into Perforce folder (http://service.crazypanda.ru/v/clip2net/T/0/lsCO6FBzgg.png)

5. Another designer uses an element from the Library and it is 100% the latest version!

This workflow is really good. BUT!

If you have Icons atlas - it is ok.

If you have Art atlas it is ok as well.

But if you have Panels atlas it's not ok because each designer have to drag-drop element sources from the library so he/she could resize it properly (http://service.crazypanda.ru/v/clip2net/B/3/jgLKglo7VF.png)