You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Photo Procedural Textures for Absolute Beginners: 101.5

USING BRACKETS IN EQUATIONS PART 2.

(Part 1 is HERE.)

In the tutorial we are going to look at a more complex example of using brackets to expand the usefulness of Procedural Textures.

Using the techniques we’ve learned so far, we’ll produce a beautiful and adjustable watercolour background texture like this:

451679041_WatercolourBackground.JPG.31f2608312a723ec3375d885f57e7bf0.JPG

Super-Tweaking!

First, create a new document with a filled pixel layer and add a Procedural Texture. I you are unsure how to do this, look at the beginning of the previous tutorial.

Select the Simple Perlin Noise preset.

To create the watercolour background texture I showed you at the beginning of this tutorial, I started with the basic Simple Perlin Noise preset equation - perlinsc(rx/200,ry/200,7,0.6)*0.7.

At face value, it doesn’t seem to bear any relation to perlincubic((rx+500)/((w*2)/b),(ry+500)/((h*2)/c),7,a), which was my kicking-off point for making the texture, but let’s break it down:

Important note: This equation is going to be used for the red channel only. We’ll need to two more for the green and blue channels. Don’t add them now. I’ll take you through the assembly of the texture later.

Instead of making perlinsc I thought I’d experiment with another Perlin noise function – I picked perlincubic (there is a full list of Perlin noise types in the help file under Procedural Texture).

The whole set of instructions for making perlincubic noise are contained (must be contained) within an opening and closing set of brackets:

perlincubic((rx+500)/((w*2)/b),(ry+500)/((h*2)/c),7,a)

NOTE: There’s no brightness control at the end outside the closing bracket – I ditched it for the sake of simplicity.

Looking back at the perlinsc equation, it has FOUR parts, each separated by commas.

perlinsc(rx/200,ry/200,7,0.6)

It’s the same here: