You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Turn-off Vertical text

Somehow I have managed to turn on a feature that makes the text within text boxes to be written in a vertical format only. How do I turn this feature off and return the text to 'normal'.

I have no knowledge of turning on vertical text in the first place. Learning!

Many thanks in advance

Jen

17 minutes ago, Casio said:

Somehow I have managed to turn on a feature that makes the text within text boxes to be written in a vertical format only. How do I turn this feature off and return the text to 'normal'.

I have no knowledge of turning on vertical text in the first place. Learning!

Hello @Casio,

actually true vertical text (as in some asian languages) does not exist in any of the Affinity apps. It sounds more like you might have accidentially narrowed your text frame so close that it is only one letter wide.

It would help if you provided some information: in what program do you experience this? Can you perhaps post a screenshot? Or perhaps upload the file to look at (if it does not contain any confident or private data).

d.

Affinity Designer 1 & 2   |   Affinity Photo 1 & 2   |   Affinity Publisher 1 & 2
Affinity Designer 2 for iPad   |   Affinity Photo 2 for iPad   |   Affinity Publisher 2 for iPad

Windows 11 64-bit - Core i7 - 16GB - Intel HD Graphics 4600 & NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
iPad pro 9.7" + Apple Pencil

Thank you Dominik. I understand this might not be 'true' vertical text.  When I make a text box  (which appears about 5cm wide with no column formatting or anything else) in Publisher and begin typing words, then each letter immediately sits below the previous one.  I have no idea what feature(s) I've changed in this file to make it do this.  I am still learning what 'options' in affinity do what. I will try my best to get you more information.

Jen