You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Exported SVG Stroke Rendered too Wide?

I'm new to Affinity Designer, I'm learning it as I go along.

I've done some artwork that is going to a manufacturer. The manufacturer's designer only uses Adobe Illustrator. I know there are no plans to support Export to AI (which would solve my problem) ... I've tried sending PSD, PDF and SVG files. Their designer said they open for him as images, and they can't do the pre-press work, and they need an AI file.

So I bought 1 month of Illustrator to see if I can import the Affinity Designer files into AI.

First I tried AD > Export PSD > Place in AI. This is awful. It comes in as mostly rasterized images, rather than text and some lines. All of the fonts look very low resolution. I suppose I could increase the resolution of my AD document, but that is still rasterizing text.

Next, I tried AD > Export SVG > Place in AI. This works surprisingly well. It brings over all the groups, and the individual objects seem to be mostly intact. Paragraphs of text are brought over as individual letters, which is a bit of a pain as I explain in a moment.

The biggest problem with the AD > Export SVG > Place in AI workflow is that objects and text with strokes on them are not the right size in AI. I use (abuse?) strokes on certain shapes and Art Text and individual words in a Text Frame to bold up (embolden?) a font that has no heavier weight. I also used it on curves on an imported EAN-13 barcode (mainly just the numbers).

If I re-open the exported SVG in AD, it looks fine. If I open the SVG in Safari or Chrome the *strokes* look fine, but the text in both art text and text frames are mis-positioned kerning/tracking-wise. Some letters overlap. But only w/in the line. Also some fonts do not render 100% correctly in Safari/Chrome ... one font, apple berry, looks hand-drawn and the missing bits go missing when viewed as an SVG.