You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Mac - No rendering intent for printing

I have been supporting people on colour management for many years, I have no issues with the windows versions of affinity designer, However the mac version has no options for picking the rendering intent at the print stage, this is VITAL for printing and you need to have the option of which to use ideally perceptual and relative intents or absolute for proofing.

Is this feature going to be added to the Mac versions ?

• 2 weeks later...

I will add here that in AP the soft proof adjustment layer has rendering intent options

but at the print dialog there is no such choice under color matching>colorsync>profile.

website

Mac mini (2018)  3.2 GHz Intel Core i7  64 GB • Radeon Pro 580 8 GB • macOS Monterey

• 1 month later...

Let me add my vote for this feature.  This seems like a severe oversight, all the more so since it is not documented and hence unclear, what rendering intent the printer is actually using.

Richard Liu

MacBook Pro 16" 2021 M1 Max | macOS 12.3.1 | BenQ SW271 | Affinity Photo 1.10.5

3 hours ago, Richard Liu said:

Can we get confirmation from a developer on this?  After all, the Soft proof adjustment layer would seem to be somewhat useless without the ability to specify the same rendering intent for the print.

And is the rendering intent choice in preferences only for new documents?

website

Mac mini (2018)  3.2 GHz Intel Core i7  64 GB • Radeon Pro 580 8 GB • macOS Monterey

@mac_heibu,