Sign in to follow this  
Dx2

Behaviors with different file formats

When I open an EPS (logo over white background) I am unable to make a selection with either the Selection Brush or Flood Select. I can make a selection with the Rectangular Marquee tool, but if I select some of the white background to the side of the logo and hit delete, the logo goes away. I only have one layer so I'm not sure what's going on.

Additionally, PDF files seem to work the same way. I have tried flattening the images first and that gives some more options, but still not everything works. When I open a PNG screen capture all tools function normally.

I am new to Affinity Photo and it seems to be really powerful and I'm sure this is operator error. I have looked at the forum and tutorials and cannot find topics on these particular issues. I would appreciate your help. Thank you.

Hi Dx2,

Welcome to the forums :)

Please could you try right clicking the layer you are trying to make a selection on and choose rasterise then try making your selection?

Thanks

Callum

Callum,

I rasterized both a TIFF and EPS and both act the same: I can't brush select, but I can flood select. 

Can you give any more insight? I have rasterized the layer and still the behavior is the same.

On 2/8/2019 at 12:31 PM, Dx2 said:

Callum,

I rasterized both a TIFF and EPS and both act the same: I can't brush select, but I can flood select. 

But, when you marquee select, and press delete, do you still lose everything, or just the part you selected?

-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 1809, 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00Gz, GeForce GTX 970
Affinity Photo 1.6.5.123 and 1.7.0.293 Beta       / Affinity Designer 1.6..5.123 and 1.7.0.293 Beta    / Affinity Publisher 1.7.0.293 Beta