Jump to content

Recommended Posts

When adjusting R,G&B channels in Levels panel, how does one toggle a preview on & off (original / new) to confirm/adjust my changes (like "preview" in the Photoshop Levels panel?

"merge" is the same as "okay"?

thanks,

lettergothic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, lettergothic said:

"merge" is the same as "okay"?

NO ! ! Merge means "Join together".


MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) Mac OS 10.12.6 || Mac Pro (Late 2013) Mac OS 10.14.5

Affinity Designer 1.7.0 | Affinity Photo 1.7.0 | Affinity Publisher beta 1.7.0.384 | Affinity Photo beta 1.7.1.138 | Affinity Designer Beta 1.7.0.14

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The best way to preview a filter or modification is to make an Adjustment Layer, which you can then turn on/off or add a Mask to later. 
You can export this to whatever image format without needing to "merge" the layers. In fact, you shouldn't merge them if it isn't necessary! "Merge" is a destructive command as it is permanently changing the underlying image.


If you are setting a filter or something like that, there are little icons in the panel that allow you to create a split view and preview the before/after:

SplitView.png.7979d08721cb61b16cb7af041d08bae7.png


sig2.png.950594012af1a9c5582236e0a457cd0a.pngsig1.png.975f263a1c12b5aec3f87a4541eb33ef.png

Illustrator, Designer, 3D Modeller (In that order) - Open for commissions - Check out my art Instagram or follow me on twitter or like my Facebook page. Phew! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks. I understand the meaning of "merge". 
In the panel, the only choices that I can find, after adjusting the channels, are "merge", "delete" and "reset". Where's the "okay" button, to accept changes?

thanks,

lettergothic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi lettergothic,
For Live Filters and Adjustments use the checkbox in front of the filter/adjustment in the layers panel to turn it on/off for preview purposes. Since these are non-destructive there's no Apply button. Simply close the dialog or click somewhere else on the interface and it will disappear. To access the dialog again double-click its thumbnail in the Layers panel.

For destructive filters (from the Filters menu) use the Split and Mirror buttons on the bottom left of the dialog.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×