You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Newbee needs help (new to Affinity and Digital Graphical arts)

Hello,

I am new to all of this so be kind.

I created a copyrighted logo for my business in Affinity Design by using brush strokes.  But for it to be used by others for others purposes they need it to be a single color no fade.

So not knowing what I was doing I exported it as a png, placed it in Affinity Photo, and changed the color of the pixels.  And now it will not let me do anything.

Yes, I know you are shaking your head.  Hey, I am a mechanical engineer I use a different type of design software. The graphical design software loses me, 3D modeling is no prob.

I just want what I did in Design to be able to change the color to one solid color.  So I can send it to vinyl cutters and apparel companies.

I understand I may have taken the wrong approach to create the logo, but everyone likes it.  And I don't know how to recreate it without a lot of work.

Question:

How do I get the brush strokes to be one solid color with no fading (grayscale fade).

Thanks,

Matt Lennon

Hey @mrlennon, welcome to the forums.

You could try applying a Color Overlay layer effect and see if that accomplishes what you need. I’m not sure what the “no fade” is that you’re referring to, so I’m not sure if a color overlay will provide the outcome you desire.

To apply a color overlay:

1. Select the layer to apply the color change to.
  2. In the Layers Panel, click the FX icon in the row of icons at the bottom of the panel.
  3. Enable Color Overlay (click the checkbox to put a check in it), click the color box and choose your desired color.

This can be done in your original Affinity file as opposed to the PNG file you placed in an Affinity Photo file.