You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Text not showing when importing PSD

Hi,

I am new to Affinity photo and having difficulty with some PSD files imported into Affinity.

I can see the text layers are all showing in the layers menu, I can read the content and the layers are ticked to display but they do not appear on the image.

Can you help please ?

Example file attached as a jpg to show how it should appear and the PSD so you can see what's missing: there should be white text on the top red background and blue text on the bottom where the small icons are.

Thanks in advance

Hugues

MPS Battery Banner-01.psd

post-29613-0-50562000-1460372540_thumb.jpg

• Staff

Hi hugaud,

Welcome to Affinity Forums :)

The text is there but it's being placed outside the canvas due to a bug in the PSD importer. I'm logging this issue to be looked at.

Meanwhile to work around this, if you can select the text object(s) in the Layers panel and do a copy/paste. The text object will be placed in the middle of the canvas. You can then delete the original.

• 3 months later...
  • Staff

Can I ask - was your original PSD file created by Illustrator CC?

We've seen a few of these PSD files with 'broken' text positions.  I know where the data is broken, but still haven't figured out the secret to fixing it.  I've also never managed to create a broken one in Photoshop to create some test cases, so I assumed it is not Photoshop that is the origin of these broken text objects.

Incidentally, I've tried these broken PSD files in a load of other apps (Pixelmator, Sketch, Graphic, Gimp, etc) and no one else can handle them either.

SerifLabs team - Affinity Developer
  • Software engineer  -  Photographer  -  Guitarist  -  Philosopher
  • iMac 27" Retina 5K (Late 2015), 4.0GHz i7, AMD Radeon R9 M395
  • MacBook (Early 2015), 1.3GHz Core M, Intel HD 5300
  • iPad Pro 10.5", 256GB

• 1 month later...