You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Vertical Alignment reset on data merge

LoudYeti

I love the data merge tool in Publisher and while I am new to the program I think I found a bug with it or at least can't get something to work. 

I made a text box that is a the correct size for up to two lines of text.

Then I previewed a data merge CSV with a single line of text and the text is Vertically centered in the box. 

If I preview a data merge CSV that has two lines - the second line is cut off.

I then can not change anything but press vertically align again and both lines show up looking nice.

So it seems with using data merge the text box doesn't respect the vertical alignment of the CURRENT text but keeps position of the text in what ever it's previous state was. 

Not sure if it's a bug or expected but how do I get the program to ALWAYS vertical align regardless of how many characters are in the CSV?

Vertical Aligned Single Text.png

Same Box but with two lines of text.png

Change nothing but hit vertial align again.png

Edited by LoudYeti

54 minutes ago, LoudYeti said:

I made a text box that is a the correct size for up to two lines of text.

Welcome to the Serif Affinity forums.

When you created the Text Frame, what alignment options did you specify for it? 

Can you give us a screenshot showing that before you do the Data Merge previewing? A sample .afpub document before there Data Merge might also help.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.4.1, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.4.1