Jump to content
LLM

Merge visible question

Recommended Posts

I’m doing chapters of Affinity Photo Workbook on my PC.

I tried this on a personal file on iPad Pro and  Merge Visible isn’t reduciing file size.  I still see all the layers below the new merged layer..

I recreated the file and  I checked the size by going to export before and after merging and the file size is the same. 

 

I thought it would be smaller?

 

Is there another way to check file size?  I didn’t see it in the metadata studio.

Edited by LLM
Nottify me oof replies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi LLM,

 

merge the visible, is like you press Ctrl-Strg-Shift+E on a PC it makes a new layer with all the edit of the underlying ones. Very useful when you want make for example Luminosity selections of the complete image. 

 

I think what you mean to reduce the file size is flat the layers. When you flatten all layers it will be only one layer left. (But then all layers will be lost after you save the file)

 

cheers,

Lutz


| https://www.instagram.com/lutz.heidbrink https://500px.com/lutzheidbrink | https://www.eyeem.com/u/pixelcoder | https://society6.com/pixelcoder 
iPad Pro 10.5 - iOS 11.4.1 - Affinity Photo 1.6.7 - Affinity Designer 1.6.0.35 :11_blush:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×