You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Newbie question - Fills for .eps image

Hi,

I'm new to Affinity Designer and a kind of newbie to using any design programs.

I have an .eps file that has some text (maybe its a shape) in it which I'm not sure how it was created but I have imported it into a design I'm working on. I used Divide to break it up so I can see all the different parts of it in the layers panel. I want to fill the text but when I click a different fill colour, in the layers panel it shows the new colour but the image has not changed to that colour.

If you look at the screenshot I've included, you can see the "m" in the layer panel is red but the actual "m" in the image has not been filled?

Also, there is a transparent background (its white in the screenshot) which I want to get rid of but can't figure out how to do that 

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong with the fill and to get rid of the background?

Thanks

Mike

AffinityIssue.png

Hi Mike,

Brilliant, that was it!

Couple of things.

When you say, "clipped into the blue rectangle", what do you mean?

How do I get rid of the transparent (appears white in my screenshot) just to leave the blue square and letters?

Thanks for your help

Mike P

• Staff

Hi mikeprag,

Welcome to Affinity Forums :)

Actually the M is not clipped but simply placed below the blue rectangle (immediately above it in the layer's stack) inside the main Layer - that's why you aren't able to see it.