You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hi,

I'm fairly new to using Affinity Designer after switching over from Adobe Illustrator. I am basically working on a document which has vector/JPEG objects inserted. It is intended for print, but I would also require a digital version for web purposes. 

When I export the document as a PDF for print at 300dpi, it seems fine; the JPEG images look sharp as well as the vectors (just as everything looks when working on the document at 100% scale). But when I export the same document as a PDF for web at 72dpi, all of my vectors are nice and sharp, the document is the right size, but my JPEG images become extremely pixelated. I've attached a snippet from an exported web PDF.

Document information:

Type: Print

Page Preset: A3

300DPI

Any ideas as to why this might be happening?

post-44125-0-41945300-1480534686_thumb.jpg

Hit the "More" button in the PDF tab of the export dialog. There you can quite well configure in a much controlled way than using a preset.

For example, set "downsample images" kind of at least over 200 dpi.  (instead of 100 or 72)

if you totally need Jpg compression, increase that 85 quality value till you get a test sample you see with enough little compression artifacts.

My take on pdfs that would need to be downloaded, back in the days -and today connections are quite better- was that if no special interest was put into super small PDFs, I'd try to get the best resolution with sizes not going higher than 5 to 7 MB. Of course depends on the number of pages. But i usually never did set less than 150 or 200 dpi. And when they'd let me, 300, just ensuring zip or jpg compression. (PS allows zip compression)

IMO, just play with the pdf settings of 'images resolution' -dpi- , and jpg compression value, doing tests till you get sth you like. Also, you have there the rasterization option. You have 3 options there, useful each one for different cases.