You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

What iPad do you use with Affinity Designer, Affinity Photo, Xor Affinity Designer? (It will help me decide which to get) Thank you!

I've been struggling to decide on a iPad version to get.

I do not really want to spend a whole lot of money, but I want to buy brand new.

I plan to use it along with Cartoon Animator 5 in creating scenes, props, characters for it.  I don't want to sit at a desk all day, I want to lay back or on my side or sitting on a comfortable couch to do the drawing.

It's for a hobby and may become something later down the line, but who knows.  All my projects has always been where I sink money into it and no money is returned back. 🤣 So, no.  I'm not professional.  I'm a hobbyist.  It's a reason I fell in love with Affinity products, due to the perpetual license and the wide range of capabilities it can do!

I'm struggling cause people say you don't want to get 64gb of storage and need at least 128gb.  I've found someone online that uses her iPad with a competitor product that limits her layers or something like that.  I've heard that Affinity products for iPad do not limit layers.

I plan to use this for drawing and maybe some "lay down time" watch movies...

I found the 1st gen pen at Walmart for $79, but not sure how long that sell is for.

The 2nd gen pencil sells for $79 right now for iPad 5th gen and iPad pro

prices on Best Buy website as of 3/29/2024:

• iPad     9th gen with 64gb for $249 + (pencil at Walmart $79) = $328
  • iPad    10th gen with 64gb for $349 + (pencil at Walmart $79) = $428
  • iPad air 5th gen with 64gb with a pencil for $529
  • iPad pro 11" latest model 128gb with a pencil for $828

Because there's no 128gb for these, the next storage is 256gb, except for PRO.

• iPad     9th gen with 256gb for $399+ (pencil at Walmart $79) = $478
  • iPad    10th gen with 256gb for $349 + (pencil at Walmart $79) = $578